Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, DotBot

Members: 0
Guests: 14
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,740
19,396
629
DarrenPayn
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » Smaug Snippets » Overland Chat "SOMEONE"
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Overland Chat "SOMEONE"
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > How do i fix this

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 May 28, 2005, 11:38 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

spallapiden

GroupMembers
Posts25
JoinedFeb 1, 2004

When chatting from overland to someone in an area it displays the names as "Someone", i have looked and looked but cannot find what i have either done wrong, or who to change it to make it display the names. The codebase is SmaugFUSS 1.4. Thanks for your time and helps, in advance.
       
Post is unread #2 May 30, 2005, 4:40 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

spallapiden

GroupMembers
Posts25
JoinedFeb 1, 2004

Well i found a fix for this all by my self, guess im slowly becomming a better programmer. HEH.
       
Post is unread #3 Jun 2, 2005, 11:58 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

So, what was the fix?
       
Post is unread #4 Jun 3, 2005, 6:21 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

spallapiden

GroupMembers
Posts25
JoinedFeb 1, 2004

Ummm i needed to change a false to a true somewhere in comm.c, to be exact i added a quick if check just incase something else needed it to be false, not looking at code right now, so i cant tell you where exactly, but it was todo with the PERS macro.
       
Post is unread #5 Jun 18, 2005, 1:42 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

This "bug" is due to the way can_see functions, and it's interaction with the Overland code. It has been in every release I know, and the fix spallapiden is speaking of sounds like it could ruin the functionality of can_see.

I'll add this to my growing list of things to look into though, as a fix is needed. Feel free to post any suggested fixes for review, and if they work and look fine, they may even be applied to the distribution and your name credited in the code and in the change log.
       
Post is unread #6 Jun 18, 2005, 10:21 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,644
JoinedJan 1, 2002

AFKMud already has a "mostly fixed" hack for this in the channel code. Altering the channel code in the regular snippet code is probably possible but I never got around to it due to other things constantly coming up.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>