Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, joeyfogas, Yandex, dbnu

Members: 2
Guests: 4
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,734
19,364
618
Micheal64X
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » Coding » LDL in Cygwin
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

LDL in Cygwin
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Feb 14, 2005, 5:16 pm   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 2:02 pm by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Atrox
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts19
JoinedFeb 14, 2005

Right now I'm coding my mud offline and using Cygwin and Visual Studio. (faster than coding through ssh)

I just finished installing the Dynamic Commands snippet, and realized that Cygwin has no libdl library. I was wondering if anyone knows of a fix for this, or where I could get a version of libdl for Cygwin.
       
Post is unread #2 Feb 14, 2005, 5:37 pm   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 2:02 pm by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Atrox
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts19
JoinedFeb 14, 2005

Ok, I figured out the problem. Cygwin does have libdl, it's in the standard libraries and I just had a bug with my code that was causing cygwin to tell me that ldl wasn't being found.

Now, it compiles and I can boot it, but there are no commands, the only things that work are the socials. Anyone have a clue why that would happen?
       
Post is unread #3 Feb 14, 2005, 6:20 pm   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 2:02 pm by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Because there's more to it than just getting past the ldl problem in Cygwin. You have to have some dlltool statements as well, best explained with this segment of our Makefile:

all:
	@echo "Building AFKMud....";
	$(MAKE) -s afkmud
	@echo "Buidling DNS Resolver...";
	$(MAKE) -s resolver

afkmud: $(O_FILES)
	rm -f $(AFKMUD)
ifdef WINDOZE
	dlltool --export-all --output-def afkmud.def $(O_FILES)
	dlltool --dllname $(AFKMUD) --output-exp afkmud.exp --def afkmud.def
	$(CC) -o $(AFKMUD) $(O_FILES) afkmud.exp $(L_FLAGS)
else
	$(CC) -o $(AFKMUD) $(O_FILES) $(L_FLAGS)
endif
	echo "Done building AFKMud.";
	chmod g+w $(AFKMUD)
	chmod a+x $(AFKMUD)
	chmod g+w $(O_FILES)
       
Post is unread #4 Feb 15, 2005, 9:10 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Atrox
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts19
JoinedFeb 14, 2005

Hmm, I think I understand how that's working, but cygwin isn't recognizing ifdef =/
       
Post is unread #5 Feb 15, 2005, 6:19 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Cygwin should have no issues with that segment of the Makefile. I took it straight out of ours and I compile regularly in it since they won't let me make my work computer into a dual-boot machine
       
Post is unread #6 Feb 15, 2005, 8:11 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Cam

GroupAFKMud Team
Posts61
JoinedJan 1, 2002

When I was still developing on my home machine I was using cygwin exactly like the instructions said... never had a problem with it.
       
Post is unread #7 Feb 16, 2005, 11:45 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Atrox
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts19
JoinedFeb 14, 2005

Crazy cygwin, maybe I missed a package in the install or something. I just commented it out and I'll switch out the code manually when I take it to my unix box

Anyway, thx for the help, it's working fine now. Also, I was thinking of posting the mud after I add a few more things. Space, ships, my clan system, gboard, copyover, lots of other stuff. But I did take out stock langs, races, classes, and areas. If anyone's interested in using the code, let me know.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>