Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Bing, Yandex, DotBot

Members: 0
Guests: 10
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,734
19,366
618
Micheal64X
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Errors in Recompile after New...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Errors in Recompile after New Continent
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Nov 2, 2003, 8:53 am   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 12:22 am by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kilroy
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts122
JoinedMay 1, 2002

I bet Samson was expecting me to post this
Downloaded the new afk yesterday, and set about installing it and adding new continents, as there had been some serious changes (good ones at that ) (thank you Everybody) a great deal of the old newcontinent.txt was unneeded, so as I set about searching and adding for my continent, i was and still am updating the help file, which I will upload for all.
Problem is after adding all the bits in that I could find, I make clean, and it compiles just dandy till overland.c then it freaks out
overland.c: In function `void do_mapedit(CHAR_DATA*, char*)':
overland.c:3369: warning: declaration of `argument' shadows a global
  declaration
overland.c:917: warning: shadowed declaration is here
overland.c:3371: warning: declaration of `value' shadows a global declaration
overland.c:983: warning: shadowed declaration is here
overland.c:3383: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3389: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3400: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3405: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3412: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3413: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3414: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3415: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3416: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3424: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3425: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3439: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3445: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3452: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3468: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3472: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3483: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3487: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3502: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3543: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3549: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3550: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3559: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3560: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3561: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3562: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
overland.c:3563: `send_to_char' cannot be used as a function
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:91: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
{standard input}:103: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
{standard input}:109: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
{standard input}:115: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
{standard input}:121: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
{standard input}:139: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
{standard input}:151: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
{standard input}:163: Error: symbol `send_to_char' is already defined
make[2]: *** [o/overland.o] Error 1

Please note this is only the last couple of lines - i have several pages of the error all screaming different lines,
Any ideas oh great guru's of the code?
THanks
Kilroy

PS: New Newcontinent text is here http://www.obsidianpalace.com/docs/newcontinent4.1.txt
       
Post is unread #2 Nov 2, 2003, 9:29 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

I would have to guess you have a parse error somewhere in there since the output you show is usually what happens with those.

Did you happen to look at the doc file I updated and included? It should have covered the proceedure for adding new continents to 1.6.
       
Post is unread #3 Nov 10, 2003, 4:04 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kilroy
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts122
JoinedMay 1, 2002

SOrry for the delay in responding Samson,

The Newcontinent that I saw in the areadocs directory is the same one (with a few typo's fixed) that I submitted a while back for 1.5x

If there is another Newcontinent that I missed - or maybe got added to the tarball after I downloaded it please let me know.

Thanks
Kilroy
       
Post is unread #4 Nov 10, 2003, 6:16 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

You sure about that? I just looked at the file in the package to be sure I didn't goof, and it has the updates necessary to work with the new code.
       
Post is unread #5 Nov 19, 2003, 9:49 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Moonwolf

GroupMembers
Posts43
JoinedAug 25, 2005

Out of curiosity, how do you go about deleting the continents that come with the codebase, so you just have your own in there?

I looked at newcontinent and it covers how to add on to the existing 3, but nothing about removing them. There's a lot more references to alsherok in the code that in the files listed in the newcontinent help file, so I'm not sure what is coded to "alsherok" and the rest ...

Kathi
       
Post is unread #6 Nov 20, 2003, 9:04 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Amalric

GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedMay 15, 2003

I took care of this in the previous version of AFK by going through the instructions for adding a continent and wherever it said to add something I deleted the entry for the original continents.
I found it to be easiest if I did the deleting (comment them out at first to make sure that nothing breaks) at the same time that I was adding the lines for the new continents.
Since I haven't yet messed with the new code I don't know if this same strategy works but from reading through the newcontinent help it seems pretty straight forward.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>