Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex, Google

Members: 0
Guests: 6
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,733
19,362
618
Micheal64X
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » General Discussions » Local Connection
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Local Connection
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jun 22, 2010, 5:27 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Karo
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts2
JoinedJun 21, 2010

I have a quick question for you guru's.
I've been playing around with swfotefuss for quite some time, and I wanted to run it off my Ubuntu box. (Should probably mention it's the desktop version rather then the server version)
I would like to be able to connect to it through my network.
I know the network IP for that computer. I just don't know if it's a internal firewall that's stopping Ubuntu from allowing the connection to the SWR server or not.
I checked and it does stat that it's listening for the port but it doesn't list an IP but rather just has 0,0,0,0 LISTENING displayed.

Sorry again for the newb linux question, Just not having a lot of luck with google searching :-)

Cheers.

P.S
Thank you so much for keeping the code / site updated and continuing the support for everyone that has interest in these codebases!
:biggrin:
       
Post is unread #2 Jun 22, 2010, 10:05 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ayuri
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts239
JoinedJun 13, 2008

If its a fresh install of Ubuntu, likely iptables are not set up to allow incoming connections from outside the machine. Say your on your laptop on the same network, you try to telnet <server:port> and it keeps coming back with no connection.

Try this:
On your Ubuntu server type iptables -L as superusers from terminal (MUST BE SUPERUSER).
You should see something like:
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination


To add your game to the list of allowed programs, we need to do this as superuser from terminal:
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport <PORT OF GAME> -j ACCEPT


I think that should be it. (Note: My iptables information is a little old as I never use it these days).

The 2nd way to go about is to use the NetworkManager found under System > Administraton > Network Manager (think thats the path). There should be an option to edit the default firewall in there but its been some time since I played with it.

Its been a while since I've done all this but a quick google search on how to open up Ubnutu's firewall should point you in the right direction.

Now, if your talking about port forwarding from the outside world to your game, check with your router's documentation on how to set up port forwarding.

ayuri
       
Post is unread #3 Jun 22, 2010, 9:38 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Just a couple of minor add-on notes to cover some minor points Karo made since I believe that Ayuri already covered the real issue.

It really shouldn't make a significant difference whether it's the desktop or server version of ubuntu, just knowing it's ubuntu is suficient. If the issue(s) were going to yield different responses based on whether it was the server or desktop version, the actual version number would be even more important. ;)

It's listening to 0.0.0.0 because it doesn't care what IP the traffic comes in on. If your server has multiple network cards, and consequently multiple IPs, then there are ways to have it only listen to that port on a specific IP/network card, but most of us wouldn't go there anyway as we want our games available to the public and our internal networks. So, by default, it listens to all IP traffic on it's port which happens to display as 0.0.0.0. :)

Just thought that I might as well help out with those aspects of your original question since nobody else had yet and we might as well try to help you understand the whole thing rather than one little piece so that you still have more questions later. ;)

Oh, and btw, welcome aboard! :)
       
Post is unread #4 Jun 24, 2010, 5:59 am   Last edited Jun 24, 2010, 6:01 am by Karo
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Karo
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts2
JoinedJun 21, 2010

Thank you both!
Sorry for the delay in getting back to you guys. I was trying to figure out what I was doing wrong.
For some reason the Desktop version of the new Ubuntu wouldn't allow me to open up iptables -L.
I did go in and downloaded some more network tools and as much iptable stuff as I could get but it never did let me bring that up.
Had some problem with it wanting me to be root. Which is odd because the user I was logged in on was a "superuser" or admin.
I did download a different firewall called "firestarter" and I played around with that.( had some experience in the past with it)
To be perfectly honest I don't know what I did. But I was able to get it to open the port and allow me to connect.

I want to thank Ayuri especially for being able to decipher what I was meaning. (nothing like thinking, shoot. I should have said this and added this. lol)
That was exactly what I was doing. Running it on a different box at say 192.168.1.67.

Even the network tools that were provided were very vague. I suppose that would be a good thing. So if you don't really know what you're doing you don't do something dangerous or rash.
And thank you Conner for the Welcome and explaining what exactly was going on.
I just hope that if someone else is having these same problems they will find this post and go AHA! Like I have in the past with you're forums. :-) Hours of frustration fixed in 2 mins. haha. Gota love it!

Cheers,
       
Post is unread #5 Jun 24, 2010, 7:45 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

I used Firestarter for awhile and really liked the real time traffic monitoring it offered, but or my personal scenario I eventually found it had limitations that I just didn't care for and eventually switched to Shorewall. Shorewall is a bit more complex to initially configure but it's far more robust and, as an added bonus, it's also fully supported by Webmin as well.

The thing with superuser versus root in Ubuntu is a little weird compared to most other variants of linux, but instructions on how to add a root user are pretty easy to find on the web.

If you run into other questions or concerns that you can't figure out on your own, drop on by and we'll happily do what we can to help out. Remember that we all started as novices/newbies at some point too. ;)
       
Post is unread #6 Jun 28, 2010, 10:57 pm   Last edited Jun 28, 2010, 10:57 pm by ayuri
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ayuri
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts239
JoinedJun 13, 2008

It wanted you to be root, but in your console to open up iptables needed to be sudo -s or sudo iptables -L.
I think that should take care of your issues. Ubuntu is funky as it doesn't exactly have a 'root' user as Conner above has pointed out.

Sorry for the delay here getting back to you, just got in from a mini four day vacation :D
Glad to hear you got it working :)

ayuri
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>