Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Vladaar, Yandex, Bing, Google

Members: 1
Guests: 6
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,734
19,366
618
Micheal64X
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » General Discussions » Corrupt downloads
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Corrupt downloads
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1, 2, 3 next >>
Post is unread #21 Mar 30, 2010, 3:09 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

You guys are specifically testing the LoP file, yes?

Properties in Windows:

Size: 866,006
Size on Disk: 868,352

File unpacks without incident using 7zip.

Though I don't like it when browsers report size differences, because IE shows the same 866,146 bytes you're getting.

Chrome 5 gets 866,006 with no archive corruption.
       
Post is unread #22 Mar 30, 2010, 8:44 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Hanaisse
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts196
JoinedNov 25, 2007


Remcon said:

... and quite a few do have the issue lol. Never had this issue before the last mozilla update which is why it is kind of a funny thing lol.


No, it's not just you Remmy as I've already said. And it's not the latest update of FF either because I haven't updated in a long time. I think the last time I downloaded from here was the LoP1.38r2 release, and back then no problems. Not sure if I have updated FF in between those times. Maybe once.

However, I just did another test with LoP1.37 from here (corrupt), from MB, just fine.

(Btw, did you not put 1.38r2 on MB for a reason, or did you just forget? lol)
       
Post is unread #23 Mar 31, 2010, 6:49 pm   Last edited Mar 31, 2010, 6:50 pm by Kayle
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

So, I cant reproduce this, and I've tried with every client I can find to download, and with winzip, winrar, 7zip, tar/gzip, wget, the whole of it.

I'm not getting anything coming as corrupt.

[Edit:] Tried with several versions of LoP, and all versions of all 3 FUSS bases. Didn't try with AFKMud though..
       
Post is unread #24 Mar 31, 2010, 7:30 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

It's weird, file sizes being different should be enough to screw things up but it's not. 7zip is also the most sensitive little booger I've seen to corrupt archives and it opens them all just fine.
       
Post is unread #25 Apr 3, 2010, 5:59 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Riffic
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts13
JoinedApr 15, 2009

I'm not sure if this is related or not, but I got a new laptop and am running ubuntu 9.10 on it. I had downloaded afk214 on my desktop and ran it just fine. I downloaded the file from my laptop and it refuses to open it. Says its not a tar file. This is the same version of ubuntu as on my desktop. I moved the original file I had downloaded back when it was first uploaded and it unpacked flawlessly for me. I downloaded it yesterday from this site with firefox and got the tar file error, and today when I downloaded it and tried again I was using Konqueror so it doesn't seem to be just a firefox thing. Its not an issue for me since I have a backup of the file, but maybe this will give more info to the issue.
       
Post is unread #26 Apr 21, 2010, 3:14 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Fresh FUSS packages are in the repository, can anyone verify that the issue is still around?

Also, are any of you that are experiencing this using any kind of download accelerator or anything?
       
Post is unread #27 Apr 21, 2010, 8:57 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Downloaded and extracted fine for me, using wget on a Linux box.
       
Post is unread #28 Apr 21, 2010, 1:46 pm   Last edited Apr 21, 2010, 1:46 pm by Andril
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Andril
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts147
JoinedJun 9, 2009

Just attempted SWR FUSS and got a corrupt DL. Using Google Chrome in Windows XP for DL, tried opening with WinRar 3.93. Also tried it in Konqueror through andLinux and IE 8 and both copies opened just fine with WinRar.

An issue with Chrome perhaps?
       
Post is unread #29 Apr 21, 2010, 2:06 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Popped open just fine for me too. Firefox on Windows 7, unpacked with 7zip.
       
Post is unread #30 Apr 21, 2010, 2:36 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,873
JoinedJul 26, 2005

well the problem seems to be with firefox and winrar samson lol and the tar command in cygwin if it was downloaded in firefox. Winrar works fine with it though if downloaded in IE and not sure what the issue is between firefox downloaded being opened fine if in 7zip but not in winrar etc....
       
Post is unread #31 Apr 21, 2010, 2:48 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Yes but I don't know what we're supposed to do about something that's unpredictable like this. Firefox works for some, not for others. Chrome works for some, not for others. Even IE only works sometimes.

I suppose an easy way to see if it's the file itself or if something in QSFP or on the server is messing it up would be to put the file as packaged on some other link and see what comes of it.
       
Post is unread #32 Apr 21, 2010, 2:55 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Is it possible that there's a messed up content length being sent, which could cause confusion for some browsers? I dunno, that wouldn't explain why the same browser would sometimes work and sometimes not.

I suspect this has to do with client caches... if not on the browser, then some other component like the router? Not sure.
       
Post is unread #33 Apr 22, 2010, 9:36 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Hanaisse
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts196
JoinedNov 25, 2007


Kayle said:

Fresh FUSS packages are in the repository, can anyone verify that the issue is still around?

Also, are any of you that are experiencing this using any kind of download accelerator or anything?


Tried all three, no difference. All still showing corrupt for me.
No, no fancy download accelerator, just plain ol FF.
       
Post is unread #34 Apr 22, 2010, 10:20 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Alright, Now I'm seeing the corrupted files too. And I know I'm not using a download accelerator, and that I don't have anything that even screws with downloads. So, let's try something else...

SmaugFUSS 1.9
SWRFUSS 1.3
SWFotE FUSS 1.4

Tested them already and they download and untar without any issues for me.
       
Post is unread #35 Apr 22, 2010, 12:44 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Hanaisse
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts196
JoinedNov 25, 2007

Ok, those downloaded and opened just fine (also, they were unbelievably fast dl's compared to from this site).
       
Post is unread #36 Apr 22, 2010, 12:56 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,873
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Downloaded SmaugFUSS from the link you put up and from the site, the one on the link worked great with no problems the one from the site said it was corrupt. I also don't use a download accelerator.
       
Post is unread #37 Apr 22, 2010, 1:03 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

So it's something in QSFP then it appears...

And yea, it's a lot faster because it's on a T1 I believe. Maybe larger. Dunno. It's in New Jersey as well, so if you're on the east coast that could account for a lot of the speed, because of less latency and the like.
       
Post is unread #38 Apr 22, 2010, 2:09 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Looks that way. No idea what it might be though other than David's suggestion that the content length header is messed up.
       
Post is unread #39 Apr 23, 2010, 12:40 am   Last edited Apr 23, 2010, 12:40 am by David Haley
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

You gotta say though, this deserves stars for being one of the most bizarre bugs we've seen so far... :sad:
       
Post is unread #40 May 22, 2010, 8:30 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

So, we think it's fixed. If you guys could give it a try for us and let us know if it's fixed.
       
Pages:<< prev 1, 2, 3 next >>