Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 5
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,734
19,366
618
Micheal64X
Today's Birthdays
Vintar (28)
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » Coding » get_obj_here issues
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

get_obj_here issues
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Apr 14, 2009, 4:44 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,873
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Now this is one that has been around for awhile and no one has really bothered trying to fix it.

If your in a room and lets say there are 3 portals there and you have 4 in your inventory and you use "look in" you will be able to look in 1.portal 2.portal 3.portal 4.portal (this will be the fourth in your inventory). What about the first 3 in your inventory that are skipped and you can't look at now because the others in the room. It can be annoying, but typically everyone just goes to another room to look at the ones in their inventory.

So whats the thoughts on making get_obj_here work better so it makes all 7 of the portals usable :)
       
Post is unread #2 Apr 14, 2009, 7:28 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

"If you fix it, they will come."

That doesn't completely apply, Lemme try again.

"If you fix it, I'll include it in the next release."
       
Post is unread #3 Apr 15, 2009, 6:12 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Hanaisse
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts196
JoinedNov 25, 2007

Ok, I'm going to ask the obvious. Is there a reason why they aren't considered all inclusive as 7 portals, so that one can just continue to l 5.portal, l 6.portal, l 7.portal?
       
Post is unread #4 Apr 15, 2009, 12:39 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,873
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Kayle said:


"If you fix it, they will come."

That doesn't completely apply, Lemme try again.

"If you fix it, I'll include it in the next release."

Lol well wanted some thoughts about best way to fix it :)

Hanaisse said:


Ok, I'm going to ask the obvious. Is there a reason why they aren't considered all inclusive as 7 portals, so that one can just continue to l 5.portal, l 6.portal, l 7.portal?

See thats how I set it up for a temp fix, the problem comes in though that if you are in a room with 7 portals total 3 on ground and 4 in inventory and you try to like drop 6.portal it wont see it so was hoping someone would maybe give some better thoughts on how to do it. Don't get me wrong it works great for the stuff it's used for, and going around changing them all like do_drop to work using the same thing so the count stays right just doesn't sound good lol, no point in checking things they aren't holding.

Heres you another thing I was thinking about when working on this, currently you can only look at other people, things on ground or things your carrying/wearing what about the stuff others are wearing like If I seen kayle in the same room it makes sense that I can look at what hes wearing (outer later only). But guess maybe that would make it all even harder and more complicated lol :)
       
Post is unread #5 Apr 15, 2009, 1:35 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

Couldn't you just check inventory first and THEN the ground? Seems that would get 1-4 portals in your inventory, then 5-7 portals on the ground.
       
Post is unread #6 Apr 15, 2009, 2:13 pm   Last edited Apr 15, 2009, 2:13 pm by Remcon
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,873
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Well that could cause problems in quite a few places I would think. Like lets take a look at it like this, When you kill someone their corpse is added to the list of objects on the bottom (Which is why the list is sorted backwards so that it shows you the right corpse and it is also done by the room). (do_look and do_get when dealing with containers both use get_obj_here) If we take and have it use inventory first then you are likely to see the wrong corpse information when you kill something.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>