Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, DotBot

Members: 0
Guests: 8
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,740
19,396
629
DarrenPayn
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » Smaug Snippets » Remcon's smaugfuss resetfix b...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Remcon's smaugfuss resetfix bool solution
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Feb 4, 2009, 4:36 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

6Dragons
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedNov 23, 2008

Greetings,

I dont know if this is in smaugfuss or not, but I have found an interesting bug
from smaugfuss reset snippet fix posted by Remcon.

It appears when you add the bool check to see if it should reset a new mob,
in case the mob wanders out of the room.....

If you or your staff members minvoke that mob somewhere else to test
something, it throws off the resets for that room. At least it does for me.
I think this is one of those bugs, where someone has to actually minvoke
it exactly when the room is reset. I'll post more as I look into this.

Vladaar
       
Post is unread #2 Feb 4, 2009, 8:42 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

I think that's been around for a long time. The resets aren't tied to individual mobs, are they? If the mob can wander, and the reset system finds a mob with the right vnum, how does it know that it's not the one lying around from the previous reset?

(of course I could be off since I'm not familiar with Remcon's system in detail)
       
Post is unread #3 Feb 4, 2009, 10:33 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

6Dragons
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedNov 23, 2008

I am referring to this...

http://www.smaugmuds.org/index.php?a=topic&t=3557&p=13947#p13947

The fix does stop multiple mobs from spawning, but unless I missed
something myself, it appears to mess up resets, if you minvoke a mob
or trans a mob out of that area, haven't tested to see which does it yet.

I generally use evil mob for testing things, out of habit, and one day a
Staff member told me evil mob wasn't loading anymore. It shows up in
the reset list, but would never load, no matter how many reset area
commands you tried, or copied over.

I had to purge that room of resets, folda, and make the resets all over
again to fix the problem.
       
Post is unread #4 Feb 4, 2009, 10:41 am   Last edited Feb 4, 2009, 10:43 am by 6Dragons
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

6Dragons
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedNov 23, 2008

Okay I figured out it happens because of minvoke

at staff headquarters I minvoked evil mob from gallery.are
then went to melacholy mob and reset the area
I purge the room melacholy and evil mob were in
and reset the area
Now only evil mob showed up.

Even though both show up in reset listing

1) evil black color (24813) -> Black Room: 24830 [1]
2) (carry) onyx whip spectrum (24809) -> evil black color [1]
3) melancholy blue color (24806) -> Black Room: 24830 [1]
4) (equip) blue topaz claw glove spectrum (24805) -> melancholy blue color (wield) [1]

So having more of the mobs existing then the reset wants, when the area resets
will cause it to break the reset for that room.

       
Post is unread #5 Feb 4, 2009, 10:58 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Confirmed. Vladaar's example will throw the resets off. I'll attempt to investigate it, but I'm in the middle of converting all my flags to std::bitset, so.. Uh.. it might take me a couple days. lol Remcon's welcome to step up to the plate though. :P
       
Post is unread #6 Feb 4, 2009, 3:35 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,644
JoinedJan 1, 2002

So having more of the mobs existing then the reset wants, when the area resets
will cause it to break the reset for that room.


Uh, no, that's designed that way. If you have X mobs called for in a reset and the game has X or more already loaded, it won't make more of them. It doesn't matter where they are or how they got there because the reset has no way of knowing this.

If you're reporting some other problem with the system, I can't tell from the information you've given so far what that problem might be.
       
Post is unread #7 Feb 4, 2009, 3:45 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

That's what I thought, so I'm glad to hear I'm not crazy :tongue:

Frankly, this has been a "feature" of SMAUG resets that has bugged me for quite a while, but fixing it requires a fairly extensive reworking of resets...
       
Post is unread #8 Feb 4, 2009, 5:48 pm   Last edited Feb 4, 2009, 5:52 pm by Kayle
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Thanks to Remcon's Fixes though, the system does know where a mob came from if it was invoked by the reset system. At least I'm pretty sure. Unless I'm not realizing what Remcon's changes do. >.>

To see the problem, Take the following steps on a stock SmaugFUSS 1.9.

1. minvoke evil
2. goto Melancholy
3. make sure Melancholy is in "Black Room" in Darkhaven Art Gallery
4. purge the room.
5. reset the area with: reset area
6. look in the room and realize that melancholy didn't respawn. Evil did. but Melancholy didn't.

[Edit: The god damn post button != preview -.-] The problem isn't that Evil isn't respawning. The problem is that he is respawning while the second mob in the room is NOT respawning. Evil and Melancholy both respawn in the same room, but if you invoke Evil in another area, purge the room Melancholy and Evil share, and then reset the area, You have a second Evil, and no Melancholy.
       
Post is unread #9 Feb 4, 2009, 8:13 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,644
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Oh, well that would indeed be a bug then. It should of course be spawning the ones that don't exist and not duplicates of the ones that do.
       
Post is unread #10 Feb 4, 2009, 8:28 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,874
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Well I don't have that problem on LoP.

Since I don't have those mobs in question I used the pet mobiles since there is two of them in one room and no where else.

1. minvoked 21014 (hawk) in another room
2. went to 21079 (room where the pets are)
3. both the hawk and the mare were in the room
4. purged the room
5. reset the area with reset area
6. looked and both are back in the room (like they should be)

The system isn't set to keep track of an minvoked mobile (since it wasn't reset it was invoked). It just keeps track of the normal resets.

I will check out smaugfuss though and see what the problem is soon....
       
Post is unread #11 Feb 4, 2009, 8:52 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,874
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Well as for the example:

<24hp 145m 96mv> <#24823> redit rlist
Build: Admin: redit rlist
1) melancholy blue color (24806) -> Blue Room: 24823 [1]
2) (equip) blue topaz claw glove spectrum (24805) -> melancholy blue color (wield) [1]
3) dragonfly blue (24843) -> Blue Room: 24823 [2]
4) dragonfly blue (24843) -> Blue Room: 24823 [2]
5) blue jay bluejay (24844) -> Blue Room: 24823 [2]
6) blue jay bluejay (24844) -> Blue Room: 24823 [2]

Melancholy respawns in the Blue room not the black room. As you can tell by the above thats his reset information.
I would suggest testing it out on something better then wondering mobs really.

Tested it out on the hawk pet in smaugfuss and it all worked correctly.
       
Post is unread #12 Feb 4, 2009, 9:01 pm   Last edited Feb 4, 2009, 9:06 pm by 6Dragons
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

6Dragons
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedNov 23, 2008

ok will test on 2 mobs that don't wander.
       
Post is unread #13 Feb 4, 2009, 9:05 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

K. After further doing my homework and checking the resets. Bug appears non-existant in FUSS 1.9
       
Post is unread #14 Feb 4, 2009, 9:06 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006


6Dragons said:

Your zone is not stock then, cause gallery.are from the time
it was designed in RoD has been...

melancholy and evil always reset in the black room.
They do not wander, well evil doesn't wander, but
melancholy cannot wander, cause you have to be
able to fly to go up, and melancholy cant do that..


Melancholy has always wandered on every MUD I've ever played, even RoD.
       
Post is unread #15 Feb 4, 2009, 9:08 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

6Dragons
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedNov 23, 2008

Damn you replied to fast Kayle,

I just edited that after I noticed I was wrong on Mel being able to fly
to leave up.
       
Post is unread #16 Feb 4, 2009, 9:13 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Also:
6Dragons said:

I am referring to this...

http://www.smaugmuds.org/index.php?a=topic&t=3557&p=13947#p13947

The fix does stop multiple mobs from spawning, but unless I missed
something myself, it appears to mess up resets, if you minvoke a mob
or trans a mob out of that area, haven't tested to see which does it yet.

I generally use evil mob for testing things, out of habit, and one day a
Staff member told me evil mob wasn't loading anymore. It shows up in
the reset list, but would never load, no matter how many reset area
commands you tried, or copied over.

I had to purge that room of resets, folda, and make the resets all over
again to fix the problem.



That's why your melancholy resets in Black Room. He probably wandered in when you applied the resets. I just checked the areas in Smaug1.8, 1.4a, 1.4, 1.2 and even asked an old friend from RoD. And Melancholy has always spawned in Blue Room. (Melancholy is generally depicted with a blue color afterall.)

Also there's (emphasis mine):
Mstat for Melancholy said:


Mobile name: melancholy blue color
Vnum: 24806 Sex: neutral Room: 24829 Count: 1 Killed: 0
Str: 13 )( Int: 13 )( Wis: 15 )( Dex: 13 )( Con: 13 )( Cha: 13 )( Lck: 3
Level : 40 class : 08/mage Race : -01/unknown
Hps : 1000/1000 Mana : 100/100 Move : 150/150
Hitroll : 10 Align : 0 Armorclass: -50
Damroll : 7 Wimpy : 0 Position : 12
Fighting: (none) Master : (none) Leader : (none)
Hating : (none) Hunting: (none) Fearing : (none)
Mob hitdie : 500d0+500 Mob damdie : 0d0+ 0 Index damdie : 0d0+ 0
NumAttacks : 0
MentalState: 0
Save versus: 0 0 0 0 84 Items: (0/11) Weight (3/140)
Year: -1 Secs: 0 Timer: 0 Gold: 0
Act Flags : npc
Affected by: flying
Speaks: 131073 Speaking: 131072 Experience: 0
Languages : common halfling clan
Shortdesc : Melancholy
Longdesc : Sadness washes over you as a nebulous mass congeals into a shape above you.
Body Parts :
Attacks :
Defenses :
       
Post is unread #17 Feb 4, 2009, 9:18 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

6Dragons
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedNov 23, 2008

After further testing which other mobs, I concede I cannot get it to bug.

The Melancholy mob fooled me.

Vladaar
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>