Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, DotBot, Yandex, Bing

Members: 0
Guests: 16
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,739
19,386
619
Alexander
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » Smaug Snippets » Anyone using the new Weather ...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Anyone using the new Weather code?
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Feb 5, 2008, 4:31 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

Hey all,

I'm definately thinking about putting this into my code but I was wondering how it's coming along and what people have thought of it. After reading through the documentation it sounds really cool.

Also, as I read through the docs it said that we didn't want it to reach equilibrium. Would it ever reach this over time? or if you set it up correctly it won't ever reach it?

Also, it starts as a 3x3 grid in smaugfuss 1.9 so if I change that to 10 x 10 in weather.h will I have to make cells for each and everyone of those cells? or only in the areas that I'm using.

So what are your thoughts?
       
Post is unread #2 Feb 6, 2008, 9:49 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Well, Obviously, I'm using it.

Equilibrium is bad. It actually stops producing weather if it reaches equilibrium, there will be nothing to change, and you'll always get the same message. Simply because all of the changes revolve around the cells around the one being calculated. Now, there are enough safeguards to ensure it should never reach equilibrium.

The code will automatically set up all the cells when you expand the map. The only ones you HAVE to set up are the ones you're assigning areas to. But if you want to utilize the system to it's full extent you'll want to set the climate and hemisphere data on all the cells to fit your world, the code just assigns one at random so you could end up with some odd occurrences. However, That might be what you're after anyway.

My thoughts? Well, I'm incredibly biased. :P
       
Post is unread #3 Feb 6, 2008, 10:31 am   Last edited Feb 6, 2008, 10:35 am by tphegley
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

If I enter in all 9 cells what type of cells I want, when I expand that to 10x10 would my first 3 cells down and first 3 cells right be the very first cells? I don't really know how to explain it better

[1][2][3]
[2][2][3]
[3][3][3]

Turns into

[1][2][3][4][5][6]
[2][2][3][4][5][6]
[3][3][3][4][5][6]
[4][4][4][4][5][6]
[5][5][5][5][5][6]
[6][6][6][6][6][6]

Where the first 9 are what I originally had and then I have to change everything outside that to what I want if I dont' want it random.

Hope that makes sense.

Also.

If I don't assign a certain cell to an area then it won't matter what the cell is right? or will it influence my area even if I don't use that cell?

One last thing. A crash issue. I was playing with this on smaugfuss1.9 last night and if I did showweather 0 100 or something above the max weather data it crashes. Might need a safeguard in there for that. I'll try to duplicate it again when I get home to make sure that's what it was. I had to look at it quickly because I didn't have much time to look at it before having to do something else.
       
Post is unread #4 Feb 6, 2008, 10:46 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Your drawings are correct, that is what would happen.

It will still influence the cells around it, even if there's nothing assigned to it.

I'll look into that, thanks.
       
Post is unread #5 Feb 6, 2008, 7:10 pm   Last edited Feb 6, 2008, 7:11 pm by tphegley
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

Ok, so what happens when my mud area size grows? What if I do my 3x3 area and have a couple areas in each of those cells. Now, I feel that I need a new area to the west of cells. What happens?

Fun world everything groovy and weathery
.....[1][2][3]
.....[2][2][3]
.....[3][3][3]

New area coming in (* denotes new area)
.....[1][2][3]
..*..[2][2][3]
.....[3][3][3]


How do I set that as a cell? Do I have to redo everything every time I add a new area SW, W, or NW of the cells? Or do I just plan ahead a 100 x 100, start in the middle, and just try my darndest to keep track of everything as we go?
       
Post is unread #6 Feb 7, 2008, 7:59 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

That's one of the pitfalls of this system. It basically, like the Overland code, makes you have to think about the layout of your world, before anything else. You'll need to know exactly how big you expect your world to get, and plan ahead, otherwise you'll find yourself reassigning areas to cells, and reassigning climates and hemispheres to cells all too often.
       
Post is unread #7 Feb 7, 2008, 8:05 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Why is it hard to resize the weather grid? It should be possible to have a procedure that goes through and does the reassigning and resizing for you, no?
       
Post is unread #8 Feb 7, 2008, 8:25 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

I'm sure it's possible, but it's not something I had thought of doing while actually writing this system over the course of the 9 months it took to develop. I'm sure there will be a great many improvements to it now that it's been released. So if you'd care to contribute, feel free, I'm not good with grid math. :P
       
Post is unread #9 Feb 7, 2008, 8:34 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Eh, as you know, I have enough on my plate already... :wink:
       
Post is unread #10 Feb 7, 2008, 9:26 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

heh. Alright. It sounds awesome though and I'll eventually put it in, but I'm not a great coder by any means so it would be beyond me to help out. I can troubleshoot it though..heh.

I'll wait til it maybe gets more advanced. I'll help out where I can on it.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>