Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Bing, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 9
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,734
19,366
618
Micheal64X
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » General Discussions » Renting Ships
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Renting Ships
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jan 13, 2006, 10:09 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Banner
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts169
JoinedNov 29, 2005

I wrote a rentship function so it lists all public ships NOT in space and allows you to use an argument to rent one. I made sure you can't rent one thats flying in space or doesn't exist and it must have the owner "Public" to work. Someone managed to find out that you can get someone to stand in a Public ship on Tatooine and rentship it to Coruscant. Instant transporation. Is there anyway to not allow people to rent a ship if someone is in the cockpit of the target ship? Thanks.
       
Post is unread #2 Jan 13, 2006, 10:09 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Banner
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts169
JoinedNov 29, 2005

Command, not function. Sorry.
       
Post is unread #3 Jan 13, 2006, 10:36 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Zeno
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts723
JoinedMar 5, 2005

You could just do a for loop of the players in the target room. Maybe count the number, and if greater than 1 have it return.
       
Post is unread #4 Jan 13, 2006, 11:14 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Banner
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts169
JoinedNov 29, 2005

How would I go about that?
       
Post is unread #5 Jan 13, 2006, 1:28 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

I hate to say this, but without posting some of the code involved, it's going to be really difficult for anyone to give you code style answers beyond what Zeno's already offered because we have no idea what variables you're using. I would assume that your looking at doing something along the lines of ship->cockpit, but given that my mud doesn't have ships, I'd be hard pressed without seeing any of your code to get much beyond that, though the idea Zeno posed with using a for loop to check the ships in question and exclude any that have more than zero characters currently in th ecockpit sounds like the best first guess I could give too.
       
Post is unread #6 Jan 16, 2006, 11:35 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dralnu

GroupMembers
Posts14
JoinedJan 15, 2006

check the shipfile, have it refrence the rooms involved, see if there is a char there, if there is, return. Without seeing code, like Conner said, anything beyond that is kinda hard to do...
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>