Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
tintin++ ogg sound player script for linux
Author: Robert Smith
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons ogg Soundpack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.4
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Google, Sogou, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 9
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
481
3,735
19,370
618
Micheal64X
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Having a Bad day
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Having a Bad day
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Nov 26, 2006, 6:54 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

pstone

GroupMembers
Posts32
JoinedNov 26, 2006

Maybe I am having a bad day, but I also can't get traps to work.
Here is what I get.

I create a trap:

|Name   : Trap
|Short  : a newly created Trap
|Long   : Some god dropped a newly created Trap here.
|Area   : Land of Eternity
|Vnum   :  1006 |Type  :          trap |Count     : 001 |Gcount: 001
|Number : 01/01 |Weight:     0001/0001 |Wear_loc  : -01 |Layers: 0
|Cost   :     0 |Rent* :     -2 |Rent  :      0 |Timer     : 0 |Ego   : 0
|In room:  1001 |In obj: (NONE) |Level :      1 |Limit:  9999
|On map       : (NONE)
|Object Coords: -1 -1
|Wear flags   : 
|Extra flags  : 
|Carried by   : (NONE)
|Prizeowner   : (NONE)
|Seller       : (NONE)
|Buyer        : (NONE)
|Current bid  : 0
|Scheduled donation date: (NONE)
|Index Values :  5 10  0  4 1000 1000  0  0  0  0  0
|Object Values:  5 10  0  4 1000 1000  0  0  0  0  0
|Objprogs     : None

Additional Object information:
Value[0] - Charges Remaining: 5
Value[1] - Type (10): Acid Spray
Casts spell: Acid Blast
Text Displayed: Covered by a spray of acid
Value[3] - Trap Flags (4): enter
Value[4] - Min. Damage: 1000
Value[5] - Max Damage: 1000


I can put in in a room and when I enter the room I get:

You are covered by a spray of acid!

So I then go to setting the trap:

reset add

Usage: reset area
Usage: reset randomize <direction>
Usage: reset delete <number>
Usage: reset hide <objname>
Usage: reset trap room <type> <charges> [flags]
Usage: reset trap obj <name> <type> <charges> [flags]

reset trap
Trap reset must be on 'room' or 'obj'

reset trap room
Invalid trap type.

reset trap room 10
Invalid trap charges. Must be between 1 and 10000.

reset trap room 10 5


Mud CRASHES

I included those steps just to see where it was crashing...No matter what number I put for charges the mud crashes.

Help,

thanks.
       
Post is unread #2 Nov 26, 2006, 2:08 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ToadVile

GroupMembers
Posts47
JoinedApr 1, 2006

Alright. I'm using AFKmud 1.77, never touched the resets. Did try the samething above, ended up crashing as well..

Here is a breakdown of it.

Command Used:
reset trap room 11 100 room

Mud Crashed right after.

Here is a core Dump, of the crash..
#0  0x081467be in do_reset (ch=0x8766788, argument=0xbfffa4e7 "";) at reset.c:1470
1470             if( ch->in_room->first_reset->prev )

(gdb) frame 0
#0  0x081467be in do_reset (ch=0x8766788, argument=0xbfffa4e7 "";) at reset.c:1470
1470             if( ch->in_room->first_reset->prev )
(gdb) frame 1
#1  0x080ffbd0 in interpret (ch=0x8766788, argument=0xbfffa4d2 "trap room 11 100 room";) at interp.c:997
997        ( *cmd->do_fun ) ( ch, argument );
(gdb) frame 2
#2  0x080cda79 in game_loop () at comm.c:4289
4289                            interpret( d->character, cmdline );
(gdb) frame 3
#3  0x080cde6d in SegVio (signum=11) at comm.c:1480
1480       game_loop(  );
(gdb) frame 4
#4  <signal handler called>
(gdb) frame 5
#5  0x081467be in do_reset (ch=0x8766788, argument=0xbfffe06b "";) at reset.c:1470
1470             if( ch->in_room->first_reset->prev )
(gdb) frame 6
#6  0x080ffbd0 in interpret (ch=0x8766788, argument=0xbfffe056 "trap room 11 100 room";) at interp.c:997
997        ( *cmd->do_fun ) ( ch, argument );
(gdb) frame 7
#7  0x080cda79 in game_loop () at comm.c:4289
4289                            interpret( d->character, cmdline );
(gdb) frame 8
#8  0x080cddc1 in main (argc=7, argv=0xbfffe904) at comm.c:4799
4799       game_loop(  );


Thats all i can get from the core dump.
Peace out.
       
Post is unread #3 Nov 26, 2006, 4:47 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Zeno
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts723
JoinedMar 5, 2005

Maybe the new reset system has an issue. Can you print out what ch->in_room is and maybe ch->in_room->first_reset?
       
Post is unread #4 Nov 26, 2006, 5:49 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,873
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Yep definaly an issue in the reset system (And all the bases it's in)
The problem is that lines like these
if( pReset->first_reset->prev_reset )
   pReset->first_reset->prev_reset = tReset;

and
if( ch->in_room->first_reset->prev )
   ch->in_room->first_reset->prev = tReset;

first_reset should be checked before checking something else in it.
This doesn't just go for the "trap" setting part of do_reset. Just anywhere that its not checking first_reset first should be changed to stop crashing issues later. Looks like the "hide" setting for objects would also crash lol. Might be some others that need updated to.
       
Post is unread #5 Nov 26, 2006, 5:55 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,873
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Hmm looks like on the loading of resets it handles that sort of stuff a little differently and probably better lol
instead of checking like reset->first_reset->prev or reset->first_reset->prev_reset in the if check it only checks
for first_reset and then sets prev or prev_reset accordingly. Either way should work, can always wait till Samson gets
a few mins to post an actual fix for it.
       
Post is unread #6 Nov 26, 2006, 7:12 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

pstone

GroupMembers
Posts32
JoinedNov 26, 2006

Can't wait till the day I understand this stuff. :thinking:
       
Post is unread #7 Nov 27, 2006, 12:38 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Amazingly, Pstone, it'll come sooner than you expect. :wink:
       
Post is unread #8 Nov 27, 2006, 8:20 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,643
JoinedJan 1, 2002

No worries. Understanding comes quickly. Even when you least expect it :P

I'll have a look at the resets when I have the code in front of me. Might be able to run it through Valgrind to get some better info.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>