Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 22
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
613
bastian
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Crashing with the .bmp overla...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Crashing with the .bmp overland snippet
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > confuzled

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Mar 22, 2004, 11:20 pm   Last edited Mar 12, 2006, 12:25 am by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

I am running a modified version of the 1.61 AFKMud codebase on debian linux with the 2.6.3 kernel. Compiling with g++. I recently installed Eos' snippet for using .bmp files with overland. When I change the map names in overland.c and compile I get no errors, but on startup I get this:

Tue Mar 23, 2004 1:12:13 AM CST :: Loading skill table...

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x08119899 in validate_spec_fun(char*) (name=0x82b5aa0 "spell_null";) at mspecial.c:114
114             if( !str_cmp( specfun->name, name ) )
Current language:  auto; currently c++


I'm assuming that specfun->name or specfun isn't a valid pointer but I can't figure out for the life of me how changing from .raw to .bmp map files would affect this in the least. I can switch back over to the .raw map files and things work fine.

Any ideas?
       
Post is unread #2 Mar 23, 2004, 6:48 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

In my attempts to figure this out, I grabbed the 1.63 AFKMud src and noticed that the .bmp file sizes were slightly different. I'm not sure WHY converting raw to bmp in paint shop pro would have fubar'd the maps but it seems that it did. Anyhow, consider this mostly resolved.

Cynshard
       
Post is unread #3 Mar 24, 2004, 4:08 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

The spec fun handler shouldn't have a thing to do with the overland bitmaps. Why it's even touching spell_null is somewhat odd, but I suppose that might need to be looked into. If it can happen once, it can happen again later.
       
Post is unread #4 Mar 24, 2004, 7:47 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

Still having problems with this. I'm editing the map with GIMP and the file size of the edited file is different than the size of the stock AFKMUD maps. I'm not sure why. What editor does everyone else use?

       
Post is unread #5 Mar 24, 2004, 7:52 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

The files in the codebase were saved using Windows Paint, as 24-bit bitmaps if that helps any.
       
Post is unread #6 Mar 24, 2004, 8:16 pm   Last edited Mar 12, 2006, 12:26 am by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

Here is a portion of ls -l in my maps dir.
The first file was shipped with the latest afkmud distro, the second was edited with
MS Paint that is included with Windows XP pro.
-rw-r--r--    1 jesse    jesse     3000026 Mar 23 08:32 alatia.bmp
-rw-r--r--    1 jesse    jesse     3000054 Mar 24 21:45 alsherok.bmp

I'm utterly stumped.

Out of curiosity, I grabbed the clean distro of AFKMud 1.63 and installed it on both this machine and
my windows machine running the very latest release of cygwin. Both copies crash in the same place If i edit the distributed bitmap files. I'm assuming you haven't been having this problem?
       
Post is unread #7 Mar 28, 2004, 2:33 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Haven't run into it. But I tested this on the distro copy and sure enough it does seem to crash and I can't tell you why. Eos Would proably be able to answer better since it's his bitmap reader we're using. It doesn't make a lot of sense as to why it would crash like this. The extra few bytes obviously have something to do with it though.
       
Post is unread #8 Mar 28, 2004, 2:51 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Some more data in case it helps. I installed and ran Hex Workshop 4.1 to see if the data in the headers was the same - it is not.

From the 1.63 files, which are 3,000,026 bytes long:

424DDAC62D00000000001A0000000C000000E803E803010
0180080000080000080000080000080000080000080000080
0000800000800000800000800000800000800000800000800
0008000008000008000008000008000008000008000008000
008000008000008000008000008000

From the files MS Paint in Windows XP Pro saved after being altered, which are 3,000,054 bytes long:

424DF6C62D00000000003600000028000000E8030000E803
00000100180000000000C0C62D0000000000000000000000
0000000000008000008000008000008000008000008000008
0000080000080000080000080000080000080000080000080
000080000080000080000080000080

Now this may not make sense to anyone, but it's the first 4 lines of the files as viewed in Hex Workshop. And it clearly indicates the header data as saved by the mud doesn't match what XP is saving from Paint. So there's no surprise the resulting reload from the mud would get fubared. Apparenly it's overwriting memory it shouldn't be. I being the graphic file unsavvy person I am can't offer a suggestion as to how to overcome this problem.
       
Post is unread #9 Mar 28, 2004, 3:15 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Something else to note - I downloaded Paintshop Pro 8 and edited the files the mud would save. They seem to work fine. So whatever this problem is comes from what XP is saving. Not fixable by PSP8 either, tried that, and it still saves the kind with 54 extra bytes instead of 26. So I'm at a loss as to how to proceed from here.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>