Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
 parse description bug
Yesterday, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yahoo!, Yandex, DotBot, Bing, Google

Members: 0
Guests: 7
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,706
19,240
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » Building » lack of 1.8+ areas
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

lack of 1.8+ areas
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Nov 27, 2014, 10:25 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ardentcrest
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedNov 27, 2014

Looking in the files I see there is a lack of 1.8+ 1.9 Areas. Is this down to their codes been new or people just not adding them.

When I goto the files page I see this.

AFKMud 2.0+ Areas (0) AFKMud pre-2.0 (0) Smaug 1.4a Areas (130) SmaugFUSS 1.6 Format (0) SmaugFUSS 1.8+ Format (0)
SmaugWiz Format (1) SWFotE Format (0) SWR Format (0)


Hummmm

Smaug 1.4a Areas (130)


It maybe an old codebase but it did have one thing that the others don't seem to have, An offline Area Builder.

I'm only getting my head around the bare basics of creating Ingame, I not going to pull any punches but at almost 50 I'm a slow learner, and what takes me a day or two to do ingame, takes me about a hour with the Area Builder.

I would love to move to the 1.9+ but I would not be able to do my game justices.

I would be great if some one could update the area builder to work with the new code, as I think this would benefit all, and would be a big plus at keeping newbies to smaug, like me around, as trying to create ingame can be really frustrating and off putting for us.

It would be nice to have one, But until then I'm going to have to stick with my 1.4a bugs and all.
       
Post is unread #2 Nov 28, 2014, 2:27 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

The SmaugFUSS code can read stock 1.4a areas just fine. Drop them in, add to area.lst, boot up. Assuming the external editor you're using is working correctly it should parse without incident.
       
Post is unread #3 Nov 28, 2014, 3:35 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ardentcrest
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedNov 27, 2014

TY
       
Post is unread #4 Nov 28, 2014, 5:48 am   Last edited Nov 28, 2014, 6:00 am by ardentcrest
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ardentcrest
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedNov 27, 2014

I'm using the area editor from gammon.com.

I loaded in some areas in to my 1.9.2 and I'm getting these errors. I know it has something to do with specials.


BUG: Error locating function spec_guard
BUG: Error locating function spec_cast_mage
BUG: Error locating function spec_breath_gas
BUG: Error locating function spec_poison


and so on.

I know 1.4a is a long way from 1.92. is there a list of what these functions have change to. and which have been removed.

Edit.

Ok I see the functions. just have to fig. what going on in the area files.
       
Post is unread #5 Nov 29, 2014, 9:45 am   Last edited Nov 29, 2014, 10:07 am by ardentcrest
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ardentcrest
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedNov 27, 2014

I've download the latest code from github. after compiling I get a lot of this.

Sat Nov 29 17:37:39 2014 :: [*****] FILE: srefuge.are LINE: 374
Sat Nov 29 17:37:39 2014 :: [*****] BUG: fread_fuss_mobile: Specfun: vnum 1511,
no spec_fun called spec_poison.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:39 2014 :: [*****] FILE: srefuge.are LINE: 374
srefuge.are : Rooms: 1500 - 1599 Objs: 1500 - 1599 Mobs: 1500 - 1599
Sat Nov 29 17:37:39 2014 :: [*****] BUG: Error locating function spec_poison in
symbol table.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:39 2014 :: [*****] FILE: manor.are LINE: 26
Sat Nov 29 17:37:39 2014 :: [*****] BUG: fread_fuss_mobile: Specfun: vnum 2405,
no spec_fun called spec_poison.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:39 2014 :: [*****] FILE: manor.are LINE: 26
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] BUG: Error locating function spec_thief in s
ymbol table.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] FILE: manor.are LINE: 1060
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] BUG: fread_fuss_mobile: Specfun: vnum 2462,
no spec_fun called spec_thief.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] FILE: manor.are LINE: 1060
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] BUG: Error locating function spec_janitor in
symbol table.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] FILE: manor.are LINE: 1305
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] BUG: fread_fuss_mobile: Specfun: vnum 2484,
no spec_fun called spec_janitor.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] FILE: manor.are LINE: 1305
manor.are : Rooms: 2400 - 2499 Objs: 2400 - 2499 Mobs: 2405 - 2484
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] BUG: Error locating function spec_janitor in
symbol table.
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] FILE: unholy.are LINE: 56
Sat Nov 29 17:37:40 2014 :: [*****] BUG: fread_fuss_mobile: Specfun: vnum 2102,
no spec_fun called spec_janitor.


Is this right.

I also cant seem to find the error/bug file :headbang:

and when running the client give this
A large rat scuttles across your path, eyes glowing in the dark.
A large rat scuttles across your path, eyes glowing in the dark.
A large rat scuttles across your path, eyes glowing in the dark.
A stray dog noses along the street.
A stray dog noses along the street.
A stray dog noses along the street.


<49hp 145m 110mv> <#1200>
help
Huh?

<49hp 145m 110mv> <#1200>
goto 10200
Huh?

<49hp 145m 110mv> <#1200>
help
Huh?

<49hp 145m 110mv> <#1200>
look
Huh?
       
Post is unread #6 Nov 29, 2014, 11:51 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

That looks more like you had problems getting the code compiled so that the command table could be processed. You may find your log (in the logs folder) is filled with errors about being unable to look up symbols. There's information in the forum stickies about this.
       
Post is unread #7 Nov 29, 2014, 2:17 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ardentcrest
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedNov 27, 2014

None in the log folder.

Keep forgetting to Uncomment to compile in Cygwin with fresh loaded files :rofl:

No errors. Yet.
       
Post is unread #8 Nov 29, 2014, 7:04 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Quixadhal
Conjurer
GroupMembers
Posts398
JoinedMar 8, 2005

Yep, looks like the command table isn't tracking function pointers.

It may be a dlsym issue, especially with cygwin... assuming it uses dlsym to load module symbols automatically. :)
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>