Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Bing, bastian

Members: 1
Guests: 14
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
614
BenitoVirg
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Questions for overland map
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Questions for overland map
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jun 6, 2003, 3:36 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tgcsteveo

GroupMembers
Posts10
JoinedJun 1, 2003

I have added new maps, and instead of having continents, im using the maps as countries. And i have added a sector type called border so that the players may see the end of the country, and i was just wondering how i might go about making it so that the border sector will take you to another map, so when you cross over the border, you go into the other country/map.
       
Post is unread #2 Jun 6, 2003, 9:01 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tgcsteveo

GroupMembers
Posts10
JoinedJun 1, 2003

I have another question to go along with this one, concerning the afk version 1.51a's addition of overland maps. When i added my own map to the game and i went to it the .raw file had been skewed diagonally so instead of getting this| i saw this /. This really confused me and i was wondering if anyone knew if i was doing something wrong or if someone knew how to fix this any help would be greatly appreciated.
       
Post is unread #3 Jun 8, 2003, 11:07 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dwip
Dementius Rabbitus
GroupAdministrators
Posts55
JoinedJan 1, 2002

For the border thing, you could try a series of exits, though that's sort of a messy way to do things.

For the raw file thing, I have no idea.

Coder types? Wanna chime in?
       
Post is unread #4 Jun 9, 2003, 7:35 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

Did you follow the directions in the ./dist/areadocs (sp?) directory? If I remember right, you have to set some options when opening it, and PaintShop Pro is the recommended editor.

-- X
       
Post is unread #5 Jun 9, 2003, 10:24 am   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 12:50 am by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Amalric

GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedMay 15, 2003

A possible answer to the problem of having a map border taking you to another map is that the code is already there for it. (This follows Dwip's "messy" answer but I don't see any other way personally without massive changes to the overland code.) I found the following while looking through the overland.c file:
    if( sector == SECT_EXIT )
   {
ENTRANCE_DATA *enter;
ROOM_INDEX_DATA *toroom = NULL;
enter = check_entrance( map, x, y );
if( enter != NULL && !IS_PLR_FLAG( ch, PLR_MAPEDIT ) )
{
  if( enter->tomap != -1 ) /* Means exit goes to another map */
  {
enter_map( ch, NULL, enter->therex, enter->therey, enter->tomap );

I am assuming that "if( enter->tomap != -1)" means that if you set an entrance at each map border then make it's reference number anything other than -1 then you can, in the area file, tell the overland code which map to end up on.
I am not as familiar with the code as I would like to be so someone correct me if I am wrong. I can not, for some reason, find the reference to the enter code that I know I saw when looking through the docs. I will post that reference if/when I see it again unless someone else beats me to it.
       
Post is unread #6 Jun 9, 2003, 10:54 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

The only problem with setting exits along the borders is that they'll be an ugly big line of white # marks. The code would need to be modified to apply the exit attribute to anything. Only problem I see with that is it gets ugly beyond belief on processing to have to check for that every time someone moves.

It may be simpler to just check to see if you're at the edge of the map, and decide arbitrarily based on the mud where you want to step off and end up. In a situation like that, you could then literally sail to continents separated by ocean, or walk over the mountain pass connecting one with another.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>