Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_drag( )
Oct 8, 2017, 12:40 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Beastmaster 6D sound files
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Google, Bing, Yahoo!

Members: 0
Guests: 11
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
476
3,704
19,231
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » General Discussions » BUG: Don't know where to post...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

BUG: Don't know where to post this
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Nov 11, 2012, 5:28 pm   Last edited Nov 11, 2012, 5:29 pm by Dretzile
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dretzile
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedNov 11, 2012

I'm having an issue on a newly compiled smaugFUSS 1.9 installation, it took a bit of tweaking to get it up and running on my system, but i'm having the current issue when I type wizlist, it shows the available text from the file, but all of the empty space from the file shows up as nothing but special characters, I'm fairly sure that this may be happening with other commands that I have not yet come across. any idea's what could be causing this?

       
Post is unread #2 Nov 11, 2012, 6:35 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

What kind of system are you running it on?
       
Post is unread #3 Nov 12, 2012, 1:56 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Quixadhal
Conjurer
GroupMembers
Posts398
JoinedMar 8, 2005

That's the typical behavior for Windows when it has a character that isn't represented in the current font, and also the generic symbol for ASCII 255.

I'd load your files up into an editor that lets you be sure what you think are spaces, really are plain ASCII 32 spaces, and not shift-space or some other fancy UTF-8 symbol.
       
Post is unread #4 Nov 12, 2012, 5:32 pm   Last edited Nov 12, 2012, 5:33 pm by Dretzile
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dretzile
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedNov 11, 2012

Kayle said:

What kind of system are you running it on?


I'm running the system on a Raspberry Pi using Raspbian as the OS (lightweight debian-based OS designed for the Raspberry Pi board). It took a bit of coding to get it to compile on the unit, but I finally got it to compile. Everything appears to work perfectly except for this.
       
Post is unread #5 Nov 14, 2012, 7:36 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

I'm not really all that familiar with either of those, but you might do what Quix suggested. It might be something screwed up in the line endings.
       
Post is unread #6 Nov 14, 2012, 12:07 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Quixadhal
Conjurer
GroupMembers
Posts398
JoinedMar 8, 2005

If you don't mind, Kayle might like to take a look at the diff between stock and your code to make it ARM compatible. I don't know how many people would want to run their game on one of these low power servers, but ARM and Intel ATOM likely both need a few changes to work out of the box.

Lots of size_t and ptr_t stuff I'd bet.
       
Post is unread #7 Nov 15, 2012, 9:11 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dretzile
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedNov 11, 2012

Quixadhal said:

If you don't mind, Kayle might like to take a look at the diff between stock and your code to make it ARM compatible. I don't know how many people would want to run their game on one of these low power servers, but ARM and Intel ATOM likely both need a few changes to work out of the box.

Lots of size_t and ptr_t stuff I'd bet.


I would be happy to oblige, should I provide the entire compilation, or just the code that I changed to get it to compile?
       
Post is unread #8 Nov 16, 2012, 7:18 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

A diff file of your src folder and the stock FUSS would be fine.:)
       
Post is unread #9 Nov 16, 2012, 5:43 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dretzile
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedNov 11, 2012

Kayle said:

A diff file of your src folder and the stock FUSS would be fine.:)


Here you go. This is the core of the changes I made to get it to compile, I got most of the information from a post Nick Gammon made several months ago.

http://textuploader.com/?p=6&id=OyIHm
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>