Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Bing, Exalead, Yahoo!, DotBot

Members: 0
Guests: 10
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,706
19,240
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » SmaugFUSS » Idea/Bug/Typo system
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Idea/Bug/Typo system
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > Looking for best approach

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jan 20, 2012, 3:32 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Aurin
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts189
JoinedSep 5, 2010

Okay, with the idea/bug/typo system, when you use the /a command to abort out of editing, it deletes the message being edited. I want this to NOT happen. What I'm looking for is either to disable /a, but this would mean /s would save whatever mistakes were made--if any--or a better way to implement /a without deleting the message during an edit.

Would it be better to do this process by simply dropping an edit option into a separate buffer (that copies the message in, of course), then, when done and the /s is used, to overwrite the original idea/bug/typo with the temp one? This has the benefit of not destroying the message, but it would mean having to duplicate code. :/ I don't want to do that.

Is there a simpler, or better, way to make it so that the /a does not destroy an already created message during an edit?

Thanks for the help!
Aurin
       
Post is unread #2 Jan 20, 2012, 8:01 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Zeno
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts723
JoinedMar 5, 2005

Look into how gnotes are handled. There are "two" buffers, the first one determining to post/cancel/edit etc then the actual editor with the /a commands etc. So when you /a it takes you back to the buffer option menu where you can pick an option.
       
Post is unread #3 Jan 20, 2012, 10:17 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Aurin
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts189
JoinedSep 5, 2010

Thanks Zeno, I'll do that either later tonight or tomorrow and update the thread. My time does not seem to be my own today. lol
       
Post is unread #4 Jan 21, 2012, 12:44 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

dbna2
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts600
JoinedDec 2, 2008

Speaking of gboards does anyone have an updated copy of the snippet, Since the current one wasn't made for smaugfuss and doesn't work right in it without modifications?
       
Post is unread #5 Jan 21, 2012, 3:41 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,866
JoinedJul 26, 2005

A lot of the snippets need updated to work in the latest SmaugFUSS. Might update a few of them for everyone.
       
Post is unread #6 Jan 21, 2012, 5:20 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,866
JoinedJul 26, 2005

There, ported it over into a patch file for you. You will probably have to install it by hand etc... A full howto snippet takes much longer to get working and that patch went into a fresh copy of smaugfuss 1.9 with no issue.
       
Post is unread #7 Jan 21, 2012, 6:43 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

dbna2
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts600
JoinedDec 2, 2008

THANKS A BUNCH!!!
       
Post is unread #8 Jan 21, 2012, 7:08 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

dbna2
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts600
JoinedDec 2, 2008

does that mean it will take the original gboards files fine?
       
Post is unread #9 Jan 21, 2012, 7:57 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Aurin
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts189
JoinedSep 5, 2010

Okay, just just updating the thread...after looking more closely into the idea/bug/typo system 6Dragons uses, I resolved to simply create a new substate for each edit process, copy the description to a temporary buffer and drop it into a buffer, then restore the temporary buffer if there was no change--before, it would simply destroy the description without restoring the old description. Required copying the SUB_IDEA/BUG/TYPO_DESC substates with a few minor changes...felt it to be easier than trying to distinguish between whether an edit was being done or not.
       
Post is unread #10 Jan 21, 2012, 10:04 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,866
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Well if you mean the normal snippet? Not really but you can look at the diff file, and rven patch a new one to see where the changes should be
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>