Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Bing

Members: 0
Guests: 6
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
612
Jacki72H
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Overland lag
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Overland lag
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > Lots of sectors + ansi on = lag?

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Dec 2, 2003, 9:46 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

Hi again,
I'm not sure if this is a hardware issue, a windows issue, or an overland issue.
I hope it's just a windows issue . Anyhow. If i get quite a few different sectors
on the screen at the same time like in the screenshot below:
snapshot
(I've added a few sector types, and changes some stuff around, if you didn't notice )
The map rendering lags quite a bit, you can cause the game to crash if you
spam directions as well.

Now for my environment:

I am running Windows xp pro, on a P4 1.4 with 256megs of RDRAM.
I have an http service (apache) running, but I experience the lag
even with no other major programs loaded (ie VC++ or PHOTOSHOP).
I've also stopped ALL extra programs other than MM2k and Cygwin.
I notice the lag through all connections.
Ok, I think that's it...

So my question is:
Is this common to everyone or just those running cygwin?
Or, is my system simply to burdened to process all those tokens?

Thoughts and suggestions would be great.
Thanks,
Cynshard
       
Post is unread #2 Dec 2, 2003, 3:34 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

What client are you using to play with? My experience with Zmud has shown that it has a piss poor ANSI parser that often chokes on large numbers of sector changes.
       
Post is unread #3 Dec 2, 2003, 5:49 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

I'm using Mudmaster 2000, I haven't tried using the console version. I'll give that a whirl. Something to think about though is, I don't experience this sort of lag in Medievia.

Cynshard
       
Post is unread #4 Dec 6, 2003, 7:53 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Well unless Vryce has a sudden twinge of community generosity, his secrets will remain his own. I can't really say why his maps don't lag you and mine do, I can only say that mine lag Zmud but don't lag in SimpleMU or in any other client I've tried. Although I haven't played with Mudmaster 2000 and the overland yet.
       
Post is unread #5 Dec 8, 2003, 9:28 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

Note: Mortals see a very small portion of the map when compared to Immortals.

How big of a map do you see in Medievia as compared to AFKMud?

-- X
       
Post is unread #6 Dec 9, 2003, 2:59 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Also a good point about mortals only seeing a much smaller view. That portion of the display has never lagged me using any client, including zmud. It's only when trying to display large screen filling chunks. Even the wizardeye radius isn't large enough to cause lag.
       
Post is unread #7 Dec 10, 2003, 10:04 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

It doesn't seem to lag with the mortal view. While I'm aware vryce won't be giving away any of his code, I was making the point that i don't feel any lag on that mud using the same client, although the maps are a bit smaller (which is something I had failed to think about when I wrote my first reply). At any rate the lag is only noticable with the full immortal view, something that can easily be delt with. I wonder though, if a significant hardware upgrade would fix this at all. (By significant I mean, going to 1gig of ram, or installing 2 hdd's using Raid0 or something).

--Jesse
       
Post is unread #8 Dec 10, 2003, 11:23 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Highly unlikely since the Zmud lag I've experienced with the immortal view was on an Athlon 2800+ Barton core with 512MB of DDR400 memory and a speedy SATA hard drive. This isn't an issue with needing an ubercomputer. It's an issue with bad coding on Zugg's part. Pure and simple. SecureCRT doesn't experience the lag. SimpleMU, Pueblo 2.6, and Kmuddy don't experience the lag. I'm not sure about others, but it would be easy enough to run informal testing to see.

Whatever Vryce has done isn't lagging because the view you have of his maps aren't large enough to know if imms get it.
       
Post is unread #9 Dec 11, 2003, 6:22 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

I might also note that you have to consider - lots of ANSI codes on a large overland map means that there's a lot of data going over that connection. Some hosting companies throttle bandwidth, which might not seem too bad except there's a lot more info going across for an overland map than for a normal MUD experience.

Secondly, if you're using a dial-up you might experience it. I noticed a bit of a pinch on my dial-up.

I'm sure Samson has it right though. As I previously stated - there's a lot of data being sent, and a lot of ANSI data with that. A MUD client that has a haphazard way of processing ansi color codes would definately lag you down with that much information.

-- X
       
Post is unread #10 Dec 11, 2003, 8:13 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

I feel that I'm dragging this out a bit, but here is an update anyhow.

I am accessing the mud from the same machine that it is being run on btw.

Is it posible that cygwin chokes the amount of outgoing data the same way that
Xorith mentioned about ISPs?

Also...
I downloaded secureCRT to test, and I still experience the same lag, maybe marginally less. At any rate, I also downloaded and ran pcmark2002 benchmark, my scores suprised me. I scored average scores on both the processor and memory performance, but my hard disc score was about 415, which is less than 50% of the average score produced by similar drives of the same size, speed, and era.

A wipe and clean install of xp may be in order. Sigh.

Thanks for all the support.
Jesse
       
Post is unread #11 Dec 12, 2003, 4:34 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

If an ISP is choking out what little data is coming through from that, you have a horrible ISP. As for the hard drive affecting your ANSI speed, not likely. Most likely point is either your network interface, or the client you're using. Combine with the large number of color changes involved in sending the immortal size view. The font you choose to look at things with can also affect it. I normally use Terminal ( yes, I know, be quiet Xorith! ) so perhaps that's part of why I don't see the same lag outside of Zmud.
       
Post is unread #12 Dec 22, 2005, 8:48 am   Last edited Dec 22, 2005, 8:52 am by cynshard
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

cynshard

GroupMembers
Posts95
JoinedNov 19, 2003

Sorry to drag up such an old post, but I actually "solved" this problem by upping the output buffer size from 2k to 5k in the flush_buffer() function in comm.c.

I got the information on how to do it from this Auric Mud snippet.
       
Post is unread #13 Dec 25, 2005, 9:39 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

I suppose bumping the buffer might help some, but the overall problem remains in that the client still has alot of data to crunch and not all of them do that efficiently with the immortal view. The code is already optimized to only change ANSI color tags when there is a change in terrain, otherwise you'd probably choke the life out of every client out there.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>