Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Bing, Yahoo!

Members: 0
Guests: 11
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,705
19,232
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » So I have comipiled AFKMUD. I...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

So I have comipiled AFKMUD. I know this is a dumb question, but
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > How do I run it?

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Feb 2, 2011, 10:59 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

trilioth
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedJan 27, 2011

I have compiled on a Virtual Machine of Ubuntu 10.10. I simply can't find a clue as to how to start up the mud. This must be something that one does not have to tell a Linux user. I am not very familiar with Linux.
       
Post is unread #2 Feb 2, 2011, 2:59 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ayuri
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts239
JoinedJun 13, 2008

If it built correctly there should be a startup or startup.sh - edit one of thoese files to include what port you want to run on. Once its saved open up a terminal session and type ./startup &

That should do the trick.
ayuri
       
Post is unread #3 Feb 2, 2011, 3:46 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

This is also why man invented the readme :)
       
Post is unread #4 Feb 2, 2011, 7:06 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ayuri
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts239
JoinedJun 13, 2008

readmes are like EULA's no one pays any attention to em.
       
Post is unread #5 Feb 2, 2011, 9:32 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

trilioth
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedJan 27, 2011

My apologizes for not finding the correct readme. How embarrassing that I have yet to find this readme. Could you point me to it's location. I found only the one hosted on smaugmuds.org and the one in the at ~/afkmud/doc/.

Thanks for the help ayuri. I knew I had read something like that somewhere but I have been unable to find it again.

Surely there is something else I am not understanding. I tried the command: "./startup &" and received this error"
"bash: ./startup: /bin/csh: bad interpreter: No such file or directory"

I ran this from the src directory and both startup and startup.sh exist there.

Nevermind. Found the answer to that here.


Legaeldan said:

I had this exact problem, you need to get the c shell
go to terminal, and type these exact lines
sudo apt-get install tcsh
and
sudo apt-get install csh
that should sort it all out :biggrin:


But that wasn't all. ^M: Command not found. Ran a search on the forum and found this here:

Zeno said:

Try running unix2dos on it or something.


Only what fixed it was running dos2unix. I did this on both startup and startup.sh. But I think the idea was correct: something to do with windows text formating.

So now I enter ./startup & and get:
[1] 9155
~/afkmud/src$


so at this point I don't know if it is running or what.

       
Post is unread #6 Feb 2, 2011, 10:47 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Aurin
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts189
JoinedSep 5, 2010

Couple things to know if it's running or not.

1. Have you tried to connect to the mud itself?
2. Are you looking on the right port? The port is defined in the startup file (one of 'em)

If it's still not running, there could be a directory issue that's probably defined in a .h file (probably files.h). Wouldn't be able to help ya more 'til both those are looked to.

Also, if you go with "nohup ./startup &", it will append info to a nohup file within the src directory, which usually logs useful info when something isn't working. Failing that, you can check the 10##.log files in the Log folder to see what else may be causing the problem.
       
Post is unread #7 Feb 3, 2011, 11:11 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

trilioth
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedJan 27, 2011

Ok. After reading several different outdated ways of installing mudlet for ubuntu, I finally guessed how it can be done for 10.10 and the mud is running. Despite the lack of obvious evidence from the terminal output.

For anyone who may have this same trouble in the future here's how:

Open Synaptic Package Manager
From the Settings menu open Repositories. This brings up a dialog window called Software Sources.
Click on the Other Software tab
Click the Add button and put ppa:mudlet-makers/ppa into the Apt line field.
I forget what comes next exactly but I found the option to install the packages for mudlet, there were several packages that were installed along with it.


Seriously, where is the readme?
       
Post is unread #8 Feb 3, 2011, 12:40 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

trilioth
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedJan 27, 2011

I forgot...

Thanks for your help, Aurin and Ayuri.

Also...

I know some of the info mentioned here has little to do with this section of the forum, but I felt that others might benefit from it. Seeing responses from people who have successfully compiled and run the mud has been an encouragement for me to continue.

Bah. Creating a new character doesn't complete. I get disconnected. Gotta go figure out what that's about now.
       
Post is unread #9 Feb 3, 2011, 1:00 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Aurin
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts189
JoinedSep 5, 2010

trilioth said:


Seeing responses from people who have successfully compiled and run the mud has been an encouragement for me to continue.

Yes and no...I work with smaugFUSS...but it looked similar for this particular process. heh
trilioth said:


Bah. Creating a new character doesn't complete. I get disconnected. Gotta go figure out what that's about now.

As for this, go into genesis.c and look for the part of the creation process that you're getting disconnected from. Look to see if there's a stray close_socket there, as this may be the issue. Failing that, it could be that the mud itself is crashing at some point--I'd recommend checking the logs, as this may help you gain insight as to the problem. Or, try debugging it, if it's crashing. Still a couple things that could be going wrong here.
       
Post is unread #10 Feb 3, 2011, 2:18 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ayuri
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts239
JoinedJun 13, 2008

A quick ps -ef | grep afkmud (think thats what its called) should let you know if its running as well. Will show you the process ID. Something I like to do is just make a user for the game to run as, that way i can go into 'top' and sort by user to see all my active games.

As to your doc location it should be in /afkmud/doc/

Now as to dos2unix - i never had that problem but i always edit my files using vi. Don't recall if I set up vi to strip out bad things or not.

ayuri
       
Post is unread #11 Feb 3, 2011, 3:32 pm   Last edited Feb 3, 2011, 3:33 pm by trilioth
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

trilioth
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedJan 27, 2011

I closed the terminal already so I could recompile and try again. It was showing an error mentioning "buffer overflow detected." So I found this post on that and began again with what is said:

Riffic said:

.. edited the makefile to comment out OPT-FLAG again and left the debug flag at the g2 just to see...


I did this before I saw your responses. Every thing seems to work fine, so far. All of the warnings about the use of const char* did not show the like Riffic said.

Edit: typo -- shown with strike-through.
       
Post is unread #12 Feb 3, 2011, 8:49 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

trilioth
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedJan 27, 2011

...how do I get my new character out of An Odd Room?
       
Post is unread #13 Oct 12, 2011, 9:53 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

drmike
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedOct 9, 2011

I hate to be a pest and I realize that this is my first post but, no, the afkmud/doc/readme.txt file does not include any information on compiling. All that's in there is the copyright banner and mentions of the other /doc files and the mailing list. A quick looksee of the other files in that /doc directory doesn't find anything.

I didn't have that bad of a problem with compiling as I'v e done it before. Most of the errors that I hit were actually discussed in this thread which is why I came across it. The biggest issue was that there wasn't any configure file. That threw me off.

As to the Odd Room, I gather it's there waiting for Imms to approve new users. Not sure whats supposed to happen when an Imm isn't around or if the approval isn't required. I finally just coded in an one way trapdoor up into room 2390, the front entrance of the default town. Worked for me. (I include that here since this is the only mention of the 'odd room' that I can find here.)

Thanks
-drmike
       
Post is unread #14 Oct 13, 2011, 3:14 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

drmike
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts16
JoinedOct 9, 2011

Excuse me. The correct room number is 2850. I apologize for the confusion and hope I don't mess anyone up with the incorrect room number up there. I can't edit the post any longer so i hope an admin and/or mod here will do it for me

Thanks
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>