Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yahoo!, DotBot, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 7
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,705
19,232
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » LoP Codebase » OI!
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

OI!
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Oct 20, 2010, 3:22 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sanus Compleo
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts153
JoinedMar 25, 2008

In LoP, I tried to expand the size of the mprog buffer, among other buffers. Why is it when I /list after adding more than 50 lines, it CRASHES THE ENTIRE MUD?

Please help.
       
Post is unread #2 Oct 20, 2010, 3:23 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sanus Compleo
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts153
JoinedMar 25, 2008

Additional matter of interest, Throw crashes half the time it's used. Why is that?
       
Post is unread #3 Oct 21, 2010, 11:20 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Regarding the crashing by throw, perhaps if you could provide us a bit more detail?

Your partner IM'd me about this and told me:
One of them is the 'throw' command. The help file reads; 'throw <dir> <target>' but I am required to type in 'throw <weapon> <dir> <target>' ... however, if you put a target on it, the mud crashes.
       
Post is unread #4 Oct 21, 2010, 1:38 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Incidentally, the mprog buffer thing sounds to me like you didn't also increase the MSL size in mud.h, but it's just the first thing that came to mind when I saw this so consider it as being a suggestion only. ;)
       
Post is unread #5 Oct 22, 2010, 10:06 am   Last edited Oct 22, 2010, 10:09 am by Sanus Compleo
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sanus Compleo
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts153
JoinedMar 25, 2008

Sorry about that, throw was my own stupidity :P. As far as MSL I'll check into it, but I would have figured it wouldn't so much be string length as buffer length. It was fifty lines, rather than fifty characters. Also, I have another issue, if you could be so kind to help me, but it's completely unrelated. Could you contact me on one of my IM's sometime today?

EDIT: Actually it could be simplier if I left you a message in one of yours >.> I am the one with the problem afterall.
       
Post is unread #6 Oct 22, 2010, 3:55 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

I can't promise that I'll be able to help you, but I'm ertainly willing to try. Gtalk is the best way to reach me these days as I've been busy enough lately that I've been frequently neglecting to sign in to the others (also partially because I'd been signing in mostly via my blackberry and find typing on it still leaves a bit to be desired at times), but since I know you'll be trying to reach me, I'll go sign in to trillian now......ok, signed into aim, yahoo, msn, icq, trillian's own, and gtalk now. I ought to be easily enough locatable now. ;)

(Okay, you're added to my aim, yahoo, & msn too now.)
       
Post is unread #7 Oct 23, 2010, 1:25 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,858
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Any chance you can give more info on both of these problems? I don't mind checking on them but so much easier if I know how to duplicate the issue.
       
Post is unread #8 Nov 9, 2010, 2:56 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sanus Compleo
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts153
JoinedMar 25, 2008

This is my third computer since I last posted here. Good lord. They've all been dying. Anyway I haven't been coding until tonight... Throw was fixed, it was just some of my own stupidity, like I said... Though Buffer size... I dunno. I updated it to the revision you set up, which is shiny, only problem though is I can't seem to increase MEL past 48 without crashing the mud upon maxing out the buffer. Which sucks, because 48 sometimes just isn't enough. I'm going to do more testing, see if I can't figure something out.
       
Post is unread #9 Nov 14, 2010, 11:03 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,858
JoinedJul 26, 2005

I had tested out throw and the buffer issue and noticed no problem with either one. I even had like 500+ on MEL and it all went just fine. I just did simple stuff on each line telling the line number more or less but it all went great.

If you figure out how to duplicate the issue feel free to let me know so I can test it out.
       
Post is unread #10 Nov 14, 2010, 2:31 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Perhaps the problem isn't the number of lines but the total charcter count?
       
Post is unread #11 Nov 17, 2010, 12:50 am   Last edited Nov 17, 2010, 3:43 am by Sanus Compleo
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sanus Compleo
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts153
JoinedMar 25, 2008

MSL is at 8000 something,
MEL is at 79, giving me 78 to work with.
I type:
12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890
60 times.
The mud crashes. I don't know why.


There's an odd thing at the 50 line mark,
*50> Á‘
Odd.

Also, I can run through valgrind, or post the stack somewhere.
       
Post is unread #12 Nov 17, 2010, 5:08 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sanus Compleo
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts153
JoinedMar 25, 2008

found it. Was some weird little thing left over in mud.h. It huuuurt.
       
Post is unread #13 Nov 19, 2010, 1:13 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,858
JoinedJul 26, 2005

Was it a problem in the release or just in yours?
       
Post is unread #14 Nov 21, 2010, 6:54 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sanus Compleo
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts153
JoinedMar 25, 2008

To my embarrassment, it was my own. I have to manually edit my distribution because of all the things I have differently. It's easier to apply the patches to it, rather than apply their patches to the stock.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>