Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
Couple bugs
Yesterday, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex, DotBot, Bing, Google, Yahoo!

Members: 0
Guests: 2
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,705
19,232
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » New to mud programming.. sayi...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

New to mud programming.. saying Hi
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Aug 17, 2009, 1:12 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

zzztritan
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedAug 17, 2009

Lately I've had a lot of free time on my hands. Sos, after looking around for a hobby I broke out the ole c++ book from college and decided to freshen up on it. Somewhere between then and now I settled on mud coding as a good starter. I looked all over for a good template based in c++. Something in color, written in c++, had the basic systems in place (combat, movement, help docs, etc). This seems to fit the bill. Tried one written in LPC and I felt like I was taking a step back. Anyhow, I gots myself a small linux box runnin on an old laptop.. Think it's vector linux light 2.6. only linux distro I could find that didn't flake out my cd-rom. hehe.. old machine (PIII w/ 256 meg ram). Anyhow, any suggestions or useful guides/links/docs pertaining to this particular code base? Lol, I'm still trying to figgure out how to get the thing fired up. So um yeah.. I just thought I would throw that out there and any sort of advice on getting started would be greatly appreciated. :biggrin:
       
Post is unread #2 Aug 17, 2009, 5:18 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

Hey Tritan,

How proficient are you in programming? C++? AFKmud is a great codebase but really is no longer maintained, but you'll get a ton of help here from Samson, among others.

Have you been able to compile it yet? Do you get warnings? errors?

Look through this forum and you'll get some good insight on what to do whenever you start it up. I believe it to be a more advanced codebase to use and if you aren't used to mud codebases, it might be harder to understand.
       
Post is unread #3 Aug 18, 2009, 6:42 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

zzztritan
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedAug 17, 2009

Thanks for the reply! Good to know there are still people out there interested in mud dev. um.. C++... I took a couple semesters of it about 6 years ago. Did really well but haven't really done much with it since. I've been reading through some online book, but the vast majority of c++ is expressed in math problems (blah). I'm definatly no stranger to muds and mudding though. Never really had a home though, so I really can't name drop or anything.

Honeslty I have most my exerience on the IT side of things. REally wanted to go into programming, but everyone around me was IT so that's how I went. Worked in a few Mickeysoft shops.. never really touched linux. so that's new. But um yeah.. I'm sure atm afkmud is probably above my head, but I've got nothin but time on my hands these days. Compiled it last night.. tried to run it and gave me some guff about bein logged in as root. guess that's bad : P. so, made some super user recompiled in his home dir. didn't complain about anything either time. went fine. ran the afkmud prog and it fired right up without any trouble. Might have said something about missing clans, but not too worried. logged in from another machine on my network, and runs nice. really I had more trouble configuring linux than the mud. Anyhow I really look forward to digging into this. Least be able to see some of the practical applications for the stuff I've just read in books. Yeah, I read in several places that afkmud is discontinued or whatever, but this is just about the only recent halfway supported code I could find in c++. I also grabbed a copy of that smaugfuss, suppose that'll be my second choice if this doesn't work out. Anyway if I get into this too much, I'll go code on someone elses mud. I really don't think I have it in me to admin\code\debug\create solo any kind of mud that's going to draw a player base. This will be a fun project none the less though. Well, like I said before.. any suggestions\links\docs\constructive critisism is greatly appreciated.
       
Post is unread #4 Aug 18, 2009, 10:32 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

I still suggest to read through the afk mud forums as there is a lot of useful information there.

When playing afkmud, you need to create your own png file (world map) or you can use the stock which is just like a block of green in a big blue sea. heh. You're better off creating your own.

OR

You can just not use overland (it's possible), and just make a regular mud, but the only reason I would consider using afkmud is because of overland.

There is information in the threads about how to set exits to the map and such.
       
Post is unread #5 Aug 18, 2009, 4:37 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

zzztritan
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedAug 17, 2009

Yeah, I have been reading quite a bit of the posts on here pertaining to afkmud. Some good stuff in there. lots of it is rather dated.. so i'm not sure how much of it pertains to now though. But that seems to be the case with just about any mud code these days. Think I read somewhere about somebody having trouble with the in game help system. I was playin with it, and it appears to be rather case sensitive. I just turned on caps and I seemed to be able to hit a lot more documents. Anyhow, first thing I saw was the overland. Was kind of wondering what had happened to where the admin wound up on an island in the middle of nowhere. guess that splains it. For a while I think I'll just throw together some half assed portal system to get to my areas. Think I'll work on connecting them later. Overland definatly looks cool though. Maybe do a lil throwback to nintendo and have random encounters or somethin. Good deal though... thanks a lot for your advice : )
       
Post is unread #6 Aug 18, 2009, 6:23 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

tphegley
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts176
JoinedMay 21, 2006

I believe there is a fix in one of the sections pertaining to the capital help issue.

Overland is fully functional to portal to a new area, a couple posts tell you directly how to do it.

I believe overland might already have a random encounter type. Not sure though.
       
Post is unread #7 Aug 18, 2009, 11:37 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Belated welcome, zzztritan.

Yes, much of the info on AFKMud may seem dated, but it's generally relevant. The partial switch to c++ didn't alter the way most of the command work.

The overland system is entirely optional, the only reason the initial Admin login goes there is to make people aware the system exists - perhaps spark that "hey, this actually *IS* cool" feeling. But you don't need to take advantage of it if you don't want to. Areas will link up like normal. There's also a random encounter system built in, but it will need to be filled in with mobs you want to apply there.

The help system thing is probably a byproduct of the conversion of the help system to using c++ std::string and then forgetting that std::string is case sensitive. Oops. :) It's an easy fix and one I really otta do just so that's out of the way. Perhaps when I finally get around to incorporating those fixes to the line editor I'll fix the help part too.
       
Post is unread #8 Aug 19, 2009, 2:33 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

zzztritan
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedAug 17, 2009

Thanks guys for all your help. Yeah, I definatly see a lot of potential for the overland map. I'm already thinking about all the classic Nintendo RPG type stuff I can incorporate into it. Suppose if a guy wanted to go all out he could just incorporate it into the whole game. just kinda layer it or somethin. Have one for towns, then another one for caves, castles, and whatever. Maybe even like a splash screen for the encounters with a pic of the monster. Yeah, definatly all kinds of possibilities. Very cool. Well, thanks a ton for taking time out of your busy lives to help this newcommer. I really appreciate it. :biggrin:
       
Post is unread #9 Aug 19, 2009, 6:28 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Never really thought about doing layered mapping. But that would be pretty cool.

Two Worlds did that with their game map. The surface and the underground and the entry points matched up so that if you looked at the underground and then scrolled up to the surface layer you could see where you were relative to other locations. Of course their dungeons weren't interconnected in a huge network but it was still cool.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>