Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 9
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
612
Jacki72H
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Mob creation
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Mob creation
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > exp problems

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 May 27, 2003, 12:22 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

When creating mobiles, I've come across something that annoys me to no end. Since I'm learning, I assume the error is on my part. The thing is no matter how I set it, mobs wont give exp points. I've tried mset and editing the area files. In the mstat m list, exp is shown with an asterics... can anybody tell me why this is? On mine it shows: |Exp* : -1
The area file shows the exp marked at 15. Is there some parameter I'm overlooking?
       
Post is unread #2 May 27, 2003, 2:07 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Using the -1 parameter tells the code to autocalculate the mob's exp based on a number of factors. Youl should at some stage notice that it changes as you add flags, hp, mana, etc to the mob and load new copies of it. If you want to set it to a static value, you need only set the index copy to whatever you want and it will always load with that exact amount each time.

The same sort of autocalculation happens with the thac0 value, setting it to 21 will tell the code to come up with a number based on the mob's stats.

Same is also true of setting gold on a mob, -1 will cause the mob to use the random treasure code.

Setting an object to use -2 for rent will cause that to be automatically calculated as well.

All of these things were added to make the tweakage of mobs and object a bit easier to deal with. All of these things probably need to be more prominently explained at some point too :P
       
Post is unread #3 May 27, 2003, 2:14 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

*gasp* You mean someplace other than the forums?! That's nigh blasphemy!
Anyways, thanks for the help, that was really starting to annoy me. Now on to round two:
I feel kinda stupid saying this, but what exactly do you mean by index value?
       
Post is unread #4 May 27, 2003, 11:20 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002


what exactly do you mean by index value?


The master copy of something, from which all loaded copies are made. Mobs and objects use these as the blueprint for what you see sitting around in the game. Rooms *ARE* indexes because they don't need to be cloned, and any changes to them are done on the indexes themselves.

This is why there is a prototype flag. It's meant to tell the game what you want changed. Either the current loaded copy you have with you, or the master copy.

If you are editing a zone file by hand, then you are changing the index values since the indexes are set based on what is contained in the *.are files.
       
Post is unread #5 May 27, 2003, 2:29 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

Okay, I've edited the area file, but the mob still doesnt give out the amount of exp (It gives out 0 exp). Can you perhaps point out my err?

(btw: This is my first mob)

(This is me double-checking that the goblin's vnum is unique)
jbland@gnome-box area $ grep -i "9300" *
gobmines.are:#VNUMS 9300 9500
gobmines.are:#9300
gobmines.are:#9300
gobmines.are:-1 9300 0 0
gobmines.are.bak:#VNUMS 9300 9500
gobmines.are.bak:#9300
gobmines.are.bak:#9300
gobmines.are.bak:-1 9300 0 0

(This is a paste from the goblin.are area file)

#MOBILES
#9300
goblin gob~
a goblin~
A goblin shrieks at you, then readies it's weapon.
~
Desc
~
npc aggressive stayarea proto~
~
-390 2 0 4 120 8 100 1.000000
1 20 6 3 1d4+0
common goblin~
goblin~
standing~
standing~
neuter~
goblin~
warrior~
head arms legs heart brains guts hands feet fingers ear eye~
~
~
~
~
~
~
#0

(This is a paste from stat m )

[448hp 788m 780mv] [1exp] load m 9300
You peer into the ether.... and pluck out a goblin!
(#9300 - goblin gob - lvl 1)

[448hp 788m 780mv] [1exp] stat m gob
|Name : goblin gob |Room : 9300
|Area : {PROTO} Abandoned Mine
|Level : 1 |Vnum : 9300 |Sex : neuter |Gold : 2
|STR : 16 |HPs : 6 |MaxHPs: 6 |Exp : 40
|INT : 9 |Mana : 100 |MaxMan: 100 |Pos : standing
|WIS : 18 |Move : 8 |MaxMov: 8 |H.D. : 1d8+3
|DEX : 17 |AC : -14 |Align : -390 |D.D. : 1d4+0
|CON : 18 |Thac0 : 20 |+Hit : 1 |+Dam : 2
|CHA : 18 |Count : 1 |Timer : 0
|LCK : 9 |#Attks: 1.000000 |Thac0*: 20 |Exp* : -1
|Class : Warrior |Master: (NONE)
|Race : Goblin |Leader: (NONE)
|Map : none |Coords: -1 -1 |Native Sector: Not set yet
|Saves : ---------- | ----------------- | ----------------- | -----------------
|Poison: 19 |Para : 19 |Wands : 19 |Spell : 19
|Death : 19 |Petri : 19 |Breath: 19 |Staves: 19
|Short : a goblin
|Long : A goblin shrieks at you, then readies it's weapon.

|Languages: common goblin clan
|Act Flags : npc aggressive stayarea proto
|Affected By : none
|Mob Spec Fun: (NONE)
|Body Parts : head arms legs heart brains guts hands feet fingers ear eye
|Resistances : (NONE)
|Immunities : (NONE)
|Suscepts : (NONE)
|Absorbs : (NONE)
|Attacks :
|Defenses :

[448hp 788m 780mv] [1exp]

(and this is the exp gained)

You DESTROY a goblin!
A goblin is DEAD!!
You receive 0 experience points.
A goblin screams furiously as it falls to the ground in a heap!
You get 2 gold coins from the corpse of a goblin

[20hp 100m 150mv] [625exp]
       
Post is unread #6 May 27, 2003, 2:41 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

That's odd.. I just had to change the exp value.. okay, now I changed it AGAIN to 15. I had just shut down the mud, edited the area file, saved the area file, loaded the mud, load m 9300, stat m 9300, showed the exp still at -1 instead of 15, loaded a new warrior, authorized said warrior, walked the warrior to the mob, get aggrod by the mob, killed mob, got 0 exp. And every time I save the area in-game, it resets the exp value to 0. Any ideas? Is there some sort of minimum exp allotance?
       
Post is unread #7 May 27, 2003, 5:50 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

After more testing of nothing BUT mobiles, I've found out that no matter what I mset the exp value to, after a reset of the mud those values are gone. Which doesnt really matter anyway, since even when I DO have it set for a value, the player receives 0 exp (no matter what). The .are file is marked for 15, but in game it stats m as -1. And now I have a headache
       
Post is unread #8 May 28, 2003, 3:18 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

Okay, found a mobile (only one mobile.. out of twenty or so)
that gives exp.. albeit in the thousands range. I've tried fiddling with it, but cant get the hang of it. Either It comes up with 0 exp, or 2 or 4.. or a random number (either way to low or way to high).. but most of the time it's zero. I can't even get enough good results to find out the exp formula.. can I get some help. As of tonight, I'm almost bald :P
       
Post is unread #9 May 28, 2003, 12:28 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

After more testing of nothing BUT mobiles, I've found out that no matter what I mset the exp value to, after a reset of the mud those values are gone. Which doesnt really matter anyway, since even when I DO have it set for a value, the player receives 0 exp (no matter what). The .are file is marked for 15, but in game it stats m as -1. And now I have a headache

You mention after a reset - are you remembering to save the area files after editing? And are you sure you're using the right KIND of save? You don't specify if this is a prototype zone or one that's been installed already. If it's a proto, you need to be using savearea, and if it's installed, you need to use foldarea. You'll also need to be sure the prototype flag was set and unset properly.

Also of note - if you're too high above the mob's level you won't get anything from the kill. So be sure you're setting everything up appropriately for the mob in question.
       
Post is unread #10 May 28, 2003, 12:38 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

When I create the mob, it's leve one. I then create a level one character to kill the mob. The area I've made in smaug 1.4a, then used the convert command to bring it to afkmud. When I used the command, I noticed it was added to the area.lst, so I assumed I needed to use foldarea to save it. And this is how I save it.
       
Post is unread #11 May 28, 2003, 1:50 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

Few posts up, I noticed this:


[448hp 788m 780mv] [1exp]

(and this is the exp gained)

You DESTROY a goblin!
A goblin is DEAD!!
You receive 0 experience points.
A goblin screams furiously as it falls to the ground in a heap!
You get 2 gold coins from the corpse of a goblin

[20hp 100m 150mv] [625exp]


Note the prompt... [1exp] went to [625exp]...
       
Post is unread #12 May 28, 2003, 2:53 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

D'oh, I should probably clear that up.
[448hp 788m 780mv] [1exp] = Admin
[20hp 100m 150mv] [625exp] = Newbie character
       
Post is unread #13 May 28, 2003, 6:43 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

At level one, players do not gain experience. They seem to start with 625... They also can't die.

At level 2, things change.

-- X
       
Post is unread #14 May 28, 2003, 6:45 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Somnio

GroupMembers
Posts39
JoinedMay 25, 2003

.... Oh boy, do I feel stupid NOW! :P
       
Post is unread #15 May 28, 2003, 6:50 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

I wouldn't. It's not anywhere saying as such. I just got bored so I made a bunch of rats and a newbie named RatSlayer :P
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>