Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, DotBot, Yandex, Yahoo!

Members: 0
Guests: 12
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
612
Jacki72H
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Area to overland exits?
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Area to overland exits?
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Oct 14, 2003, 7:30 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Celainn

GroupMembers
Posts7
JoinedSep 18, 2003

Hey all, sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but I'm having troubles figuring out how to set an exit from an area to the overland. I can setexit in overland TO the area just fine, but how do I make it so players go back to the coords on overland that they came from??

Any hints would be great,
Thanks
       
Post is unread #2 Oct 14, 2003, 8:15 am   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 8:38 pm by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002


excoord | [direction] [x] [y] -- sets an exit's coordinates onto a map

Note: When setting exit coordinates, be sure the exit is flagged "overland"
or it will not work. The exit will lead out to whichever map covers
the continent the area is on.


Excerpted from the 'help redit' entry that should exist if you're using AFKMud, or should be there if you copied the helps from a snippet install.
       
Post is unread #3 Oct 14, 2003, 8:21 am   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 8:38 pm by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Celainn

GroupMembers
Posts7
JoinedSep 18, 2003

Thanks Samson! That worked. Serves me right for not reading redit. :> Been building for 6 years, thought I knew it all. Danke
       
Post is unread #4 Oct 21, 2003, 4:55 pm   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 8:38 pm by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

That worked. Serves me right for not reading redit. :>

Better still, check out ~/afkmud/areadocs (sp?) and HELP REDIT. ;)
Been building for 6 years,

I'm sorry.
thought I knew it all.

Thinking... the one thing everyone claims to do, yet they never really do. I'm a shining example of this. ;)

Danke

Dunkie...


-- Mr. X
       
Post is unread #5 Dec 8, 2003, 10:48 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Delpho

GroupMembers
Posts2
JoinedDec 8, 2003

I would ask a simple question, that is:
setexit is the only way to link overland to areas?
This command change an overland sector type to EXIT
If i would to create an exit like:

.....
..@..
.....

and if you came from nord you get vnum x, from est
vnum y etc... how can i do?
With setexit for any direction you come you get the
same vnum

I hope i was clear, i don't speak english very well

Tnx a lot
Delpho
       
Post is unread #6 Dec 9, 2003, 1:45 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

From what I understand, you want an exit to move you to a different location depending on the direction you moved. This isn't possible in the codebase currently without using mudprogs - this means that the player will have to leave the overland map to make it happen.

hope this helps a little.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>