Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Google, DotBot, Yahoo!, Majestic-12

Members: 0
Guests: 10
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,706
19,240
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » SWR FUSS » Trouble starting up SWR FUSS
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Trouble starting up SWR FUSS
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Oct 8, 2008, 2:43 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

flonnemcninja
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedOct 8, 2008

Hello, everybody,

I'm fairly new to mud coding, and entirely new to SWR FUSS, though I've wanted to play around with it for a while now. I've got the codebase and compiled it (in Cygwin), and now I'm having a little trouble.

When I try to run the startup script in the src folder, I get this error:
bash: ./startup: /bin/csh: bad interpreter: No such file or directory

I understand what this means; I'm missing a file. However, I'm not sure of what to do about it. I've checked, and I don't seem to have a bin folder at all, let alone anything in it called "csh." Is this something I can make? Something I can download? Is the file faulty? I need some advice, please.

Thanks!
       
Post is unread #2 Oct 8, 2008, 3:18 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Caius
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts132
JoinedJan 29, 2006

csh is the 'c shell' command line environment. The script tries to run through csh, but apparently it's not installed. I don't have a Cygwin install to play with right now, but if it exists you run setup.exe and try finding it among the Cygwin packages, then install it.
       
Post is unread #3 Oct 8, 2008, 4:10 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

flonnemcninja
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedOct 8, 2008

Ok, cool, thanks so much. ^_^ Fourth time in the past three days I've had to update Cygwin for something, but at least this shouldn't take long.
       
Post is unread #4 Oct 22, 2008, 9:41 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Igabod
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts40
JoinedSep 25, 2008

sorry to tell you but i had to update what i had installed in cygwin about 50 times and i probably still dont have everything i need, but it takes forever to just install everything so i'm doing it piecemeal as i find something i need. you'll probably find you're missing a lot of needed libs as well, my suggestion would be to install everything if you're patient just to avoid these little problems every other day.
       
Post is unread #5 Oct 23, 2008, 11:52 am   Last edited Oct 24, 2008, 3:39 pm by Kayle
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

You could always install AndLinux and just forgo the millions of flaws with Cygwin.

[Edit:] To repair my retardedness.
       
Post is unread #6 Oct 23, 2008, 12:34 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

I think that Kayle meant Cygwin, not Linux. :tongue:
       
Post is unread #7 Oct 24, 2008, 2:30 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Igabod
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts40
JoinedSep 25, 2008

i did install andlinux but for some reason i'm unable to access any files, all i have in my root folder is an empty folder called windows and i'm frankly tired of trying to screw with it. i asked for some help on mudbytes.net but was unable to get the problem fixed so i said screw it i'll work around the problems with cygwin cause i can actually use it. don't know why but the installation of andlinux is way more confusing than cygwin installation. even though i followed the instructions it still didn't work for me so whatever. i'm doing fine with cygwin now that i've got most of the libs and everything i need. still have problems with crypt and a few other things but not in the code i'm currently working on so who cares.
       
Post is unread #8 Mar 18, 2009, 8:34 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

pentair
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts18
JoinedMar 18, 2009

last time i used cygwin it didnt support crypt and it made an swr.exe that i had to put into the area dir. then i had to change all the copyover file locations.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>