Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_drag( )
Oct 8, 2017, 12:40 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Beastmaster 6D sound files
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, DotBot, Bing

Members: 0
Guests: 13
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
476
3,704
19,231
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » General » General Discussions » How do we handle the errors c...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts
How do we handle the errors caused by gcc4.2? (14 Votes)
Update to const char *argument and adjust all the rest of the code accordingly.  57.14% - 8 votes

Modernize and update to std::string throughout the code.  42.86% - 6 votes

Other. (Post an explanation of your alternative solution.)  0% - 0 votes

How do we handle the errors caused by gcc4.2?
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... next >>
Post is unread #41 Jul 24, 2008, 8:55 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Something went wrong with my internet connection yesterday around 6pm Eastern and things have been really slow. I've gotten in touch with RCN about this but in the meantime I apologize if the page takes a while to load... :sigh:
       
Post is unread #42 Jul 24, 2008, 10:12 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

RCN = Royal Canadian Network? :P
       
Post is unread #43 Jul 24, 2008, 10:21 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

I don't think so :wink: Actually I don't know what it stands for, they always go by just RCN. Probably something-cable-network.
       
Post is unread #44 Jul 24, 2008, 10:30 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Maybe. At least it's not Comcast. You'd NEVER get your slow speed fixed. XD
       
Post is unread #45 Jul 24, 2008, 11:04 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Well, I think something's actually seriously broken... pages like here or MB that used to load in less than a second are taking ~30 seconds. When I ssh into my server, characters get echoed back at about 1 per second. So something is probably going pretty wrong. :sigh:
       
Post is unread #46 Jul 24, 2008, 11:15 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Kayle
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,195
JoinedMar 21, 2006

Certainly sounds like it. Comcast would just tell you it's a problem with the signal, and tell you they'll send you a new one. and end the conversation. :P
       
Post is unread #47 Jul 24, 2008, 1:14 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Hmm, power-cycling the modem did the trick. But now port 80 isn't working, even though port 8088 is. I wonder if the ISP is blocking port 80, since I'm almost positive that I opened it up on the firewall...

Ah, what joy it is to be using a normal ISP again, after being on an open internet backbone for five years. :rolleyes:
       
Post is unread #48 Jul 24, 2008, 5:26 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Kayle said:

Maybe. At least it's not Comcast. You'd NEVER get your slow speed fixed. XD

Kayle said:

Certainly sounds like it. Comcast would just tell you it's a problem with the signal, and tell you they'll send you a new one. and end the conversation. :P

<mutters angrily> :evil: = Comcast
Grrr! Worst part is that, for my latest Comcast issues, I've concluded that, despite Comcast's "efforts", my problems currently actually have more to do with spammers than Comcast directly. :cry:
I'd actually be very happy with Comcast if they'd block known major spammer IP ranges before they ever get to me so I don't have to add them to my firewall... that and teach their regular customers to run antivirus software once in awhile... </rant>
       
Post is unread #49 Jul 24, 2008, 7:35 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Conner, it's futile to try and employ spam control measures at that level. You inevitably get someone using the service who complains bitterly no matter what measures you put in place for the good of all and insists that they either be exempted from it entirely ( which opens the system up for attack ) or that you disable it entirely because their email isn't being delivered 10 seconds after it's been sent. Comcast apparently just chose the easy way out and doesn't bother filtering anything.
       
Post is unread #50 Jul 24, 2008, 8:47 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Unfortunately RCN indeed seems to be blocking port 80. Grr. :mad: I've set up port 8080 instead to point to port 80 on my server; I'm updating the repository browser now.
       
Post is unread #51 Jul 24, 2008, 8:54 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

OK, if you go to www.binarygoblins.com:8088, you'll get the repository browser, and the links provided should all work now.
       
Post is unread #52 Jul 24, 2008, 9:03 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Time to play dumb again:)

I'm not seeing an obvious way to get either a diff that can be used with the patch command or a way to just download a package containing the modified codebase.
       
Post is unread #53 Jul 24, 2008, 9:44 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

The_Fury
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts47
JoinedJun 1, 2008


Time to play dumb again:)


Don't worry your not alone, i couldn't work it out either.
       
Post is unread #54 Jul 24, 2008, 9:52 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

GatewaySysop
Conjurer
GroupMembers
Posts367
JoinedMar 7, 2005

Add a third to that list then. Sorry. :redface:

I actually got a Python error and think I broke something while trying to figure it out. :cry:


       
Post is unread #55 Jul 25, 2008, 7:58 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

Guys, I gave ya'all a direct link to the diff. :tongue: Here it is again: http://binarygoblins.dyndns.org:8088/smaugfuss-stable-const/?cmd=diff;otherrevid=david%40the-haleys.org-20080722175002-u66qi7ubq4uly4mb;rev=david%40the-haleys.org-20080722180022-e25t19vsjwfanb5n;pathrevid=;path=. It might take a minute or two to generate (it's on a very slow server that was slow 5 years ago) but it'll come up.

And indeed, there is no link to a tarball because it's a version control repository. You can check out the code when you have bzr. To do that,
bzr branch <repo>


In this case, the repo link is the one on the page that says "Repository". So, http://www.binarygoblins.com:8080/~david/bzr/fussproject/SmaugFUSS/stable-const-fix. (Viewing the link directly is not going to be useful. If you add on .bzr to the path, you'll see the version control files.)

If absolutely necessary, I can put together a tarball for download... :wink:
       
Post is unread #56 Jul 25, 2008, 8:29 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Well unless I've missed something incredibly obvious, that diff link isn't producing a file I can save and use with a patch command. It's producing a rather lengthy fancy format HTML document that would need to be run through by hand. Something I'd prefer to avoid with a patch of this magnitude.
       
Post is unread #57 Jul 25, 2008, 9:54 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

You probably want the 'raw' link up on top of the page...

It might be easier to branch stable, then to put your code on top of it, commit, then merge with the const-fix version. That way bzr will take care of everything for you.
       
Post is unread #58 Jul 25, 2008, 2:20 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Darwin
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts37
JoinedOct 10, 2007

Maybe it's just me, but this seems overly complicated. Is there a way you can make the repository thing automatically create a tarball for download?
       
Post is unread #59 Jul 25, 2008, 2:28 pm   Last edited Jul 25, 2008, 2:34 pm by David Haley
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

David Haley
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts903
JoinedJan 29, 2007

This isn't meant to be a permanent solution of any sort; it's supposed to be a way to explore the diffs. I don't want to enable tarball generation on the browser because that will consume more resources than I care to use, however, I don't object to uploading a tarball to this site. I've done so and it's awaiting approval.
       
Post is unread #60 Jul 25, 2008, 3:40 pm   Last edited Jul 25, 2008, 4:00 pm by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

DavidHaley said:

You probably want the 'raw' link up on top of the page...

It might be easier to branch stable, then to put your code on top of it, commit, then merge with the const-fix version. That way bzr will take care of everything for you.


I'll take another look right now but I don't recall seeing any "raw" links. I also don't see how branching one thing, putting "my" code on top of it, merging the const-fix, then recommitting would be at all easy for those of us who know nothing of how bzr works. I'm used to SVN, and even then I deal with it through a Windows interface since engaging it from the command line is a pain in the ass.

And thinking about it, what code is there to merge? 1.9 hasn't been touched in quite some time, mainly because we were waiting on this fix to be ready but also because as I said, nobody *cough*Kayle*cough* has given me anything ready for adding in anyway.

EDIT: Well anyway. Got ahold of the diff finally, ran the patch command. Came away squeaky clean except for a single line in imc.c which apparently was already fixed. The compile stands up against -Wwrite-strings as well. So unless anyone can think of some REALLY good reason why this shouldn't go live as a 1.9 update I'd love to hear it now....
       
Pages:<< prev 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... next >>