Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_drag( )
Oct 8, 2017, 12:40 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Beastmaster 6D sound files
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex, DotBot

Members: 0
Guests: 5
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
476
3,704
19,231
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Setting the login access code?
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Setting the login access code?
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jan 20, 2008, 3:04 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

daemion
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedJan 20, 2008

hello!I have installed AFKMUD 1.8(C version not C++)on my Intel Pentium4 1 GB RAM 3 Ghz with Kubuntu as Linux S O Environment.
I have successfully login in the mud with the account Admin...but when I try to create a new normal simple player game...the mud asks me an
access code...now the question is...Where I can find this access code you put in the mud?

Thank you for your kind attention...replies are welcome :)

bye
       
Post is unread #2 Jan 20, 2008, 9:29 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

It's asking for that code because the port number you've assigned to your main port isn't what's expected in the code.

In your mudcfg.h file look for this:
#ifdef MULTIPORT
/* Port definitions for various commands - Samson 8-22-98 */
/* Now only works if Multiport support is enabled at compile time - Samson 7-12-02 */
#define CODEPORT  9700
#define BUILDPORT 9600
#define MAINPORT  9500
#endif


Then set those port numbers to what you want them to be and recompile everything.

For build ports etc, when you want to actually set the access code, use cset:

cset password <whatever>
       
Post is unread #3 Jan 21, 2008, 1:42 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

daemion
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedJan 20, 2008

Thank you for replying.

So you are saying that the mainport I assigned for the mud is different from the one is compiled in the mudcode.

I use the following command from KUBUNTU LINUX SHELL to launch the mud:

nohup ./startup 4000

Can you write here the right comman I should to use to put the mud up with the MAINPORT coded in the mudcode pls?

I do not have much time for coding right now...pls help me :)

thank you for your kind attention anyway...you answered very quickly...thank you again
       
Post is unread #4 Jan 21, 2008, 7:58 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

The code defaults to port 9500.
       
Post is unread #5 Jan 21, 2008, 10:20 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

daemion
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedJan 20, 2008

So the code defaults for port 9500 yes I have understood that...what I was asking,what I want to know is what is the exactly command I must
type from Linux shell to launch correctly the mud with the default ports.

Is -> nohup ./startup 9500 correct enough?

Thanks for replying


See you
       
Post is unread #6 Jan 21, 2008, 2:08 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

eldhamud
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts45
JoinedFeb 16, 2006

What you need to do is use GREP to find the following in the code,

#ifdef MULTIPORT
/* Port definitions for various commands - Samson 8-22-98 */
/* Now only works if Multiport support is enabled at compile time - Samson 7-12-02 */
#define CODEPORT 9700
#define BUILDPORT 9600
#define MAINPORT 9500
#endif

Then you can open up the file that these lines are contained in with your favorate editor, nano perhaps.
Change the numbers there, to be the port numbers that you wish to use, then make clean and make
the whole server.

Check the startup script and change any port numbers set in there, then just start your server as normal,
nohup ./staretup&
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>