Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 8
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
612
Jacki72H
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Dual boot system
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Dual boot system
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > Q:configuring redhat to talk to the

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jun 18, 2002, 7:21 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Gellor

GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedJun 18, 2002

Hi, this is my first post, sorry if this is a bit off topic. After using cywin for a while I decided to setup a dual boot system with windows. I've got a P4 with windows XP and I added an old hard drive and installed redhat 7.2 on it so I can boot up to either OS. I was able to get AFKmud compiled and working fine, but my problem is I can't figure out how to get redhat to recognize my network card properly, so of course no one can connect to the mud! My card isn't on the list under the network config section and it always detects the incorrect card. I was hoping someone here might be able to give me some suggestions on how to configure the card properly.
Thanks for your time!
       
Post is unread #2 Jun 19, 2002, 11:29 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Guest - (Unregistered)

I was hoping someone here might be able to give me some suggestions on how to configure the card properly.

Any idea what it is?

There is a whole host of modules you can modprobe into the system for various cards, I've had some cards that Linux never detected quite right and had to manually load the right module and everything was perfectly happy after that.

Make, model.. that sorta thing and can prolly point you in the right direction
       
Post is unread #3 Jun 20, 2002, 9:19 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Gellor

GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedJun 18, 2002

Thanks for your help.
Sure I've a D-Link DFE-530TX+ and have all the dma interrupt and memory info also. I'm pretty lost in Linux but if I understand you, I need to access my kernel modules and modify my network settings, course I've not a clue how to go about that. I'm just getting my feet wet with linux and just know basic shell commands. Is modprobe as shell command of some kind? or a xwindows type app? Guess I better read thru all those docs! Anyways I'll start studying up... Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!
       
Post is unread #4 Jun 21, 2002, 3:31 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kilroy
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts122
JoinedMay 1, 2002

What sort of net connection do you have?
is it a Dial-up
are you connecting to an existing network?
did this network cark work with XP?
do you have a static ip or dynamic?
hmmmm
redhat 7.2 should be able to pretty much recognise 99.9% of all the cards out there
I have a dlink in my system , and redhat did not even burp
just set it up as sweet as could be

Kilroy
       
Post is unread #5 Jun 21, 2002, 10:01 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Gellor

GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedJun 18, 2002

Okay here's my whole setup, I've 3 windows pc's connected together on a D-link hub with D-link network cards. The hub connects to a external DSL modem all working great. Plus we love having big LAN party weekends when our friends bring over extra laptops I've tried installing my Redhat hard drive in another pc on the network and it had the exact same problem with the network card. The DSL has a dynamic IP address when it connects, but since I rarely ever have to shut down the modem it stays static for several weeks. Plus under windows I've a free IP connector that connects my dynamic IP to a static IP listed on my website so folks can always connect.

My goal is to get this Linux server to be a game server for my network, but my lack of linux knowledge is getting me ready to chuck this thing out in the trash! Its been nothing but a pain so far, the network card is just one of several problems it can't seem to handle properly, but I can live without my scanner and dvd player etc Perhaps just buying a network card it supports might be alot simpler? I'll keep plugging away at it, I'm slowing learning more about it, I just don't fully understand the use of drivers and how to setup and modify them in a linux environment.
Thanks again for your commenting and help!
       
Post is unread #6 Jun 22, 2002, 1:15 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Guest - (Unregistered)

Sure I've a D-Link DFE-530TX+ and have all the dma interrupt and memory info also

Okay that info will help if the modprobe doesn't find it itself.

As a quick overview, the modules of the kernel are compiled and installed as part of the kernel setup, which as part of a stock linux install they are for you already. A list of dependacies and stuff are built to make your life a lot easier and modprobe is designed to query for the particular type of hardware and set it up with I/O DMA IRQ etc.. as required.

Having a quick nose at a default RH7.2 install there is a set of DLink drivers (I've had to get a DE600 or something working before) and it could be the defxx is the one you want.

Login as root on your machine, type ifconfig into a shell and it should list the active network devices. One should be called lo and unless you have anything else in there, nothing else will be listed. Now type "modprobe defxx" (which hopefully should return without errors) and typing ifconfig should now list lo along with a eth0.

If this has worked, you can use the menu driven netconfig command (type into a xterm or console shell) to setup the network, it'll go through the IP, Gateway, DNS, Subnet stuff with you and setup the config files and save them.

What is odd, is that it didn't detect the hardware for you, as its usually pretty good at that for you... and having just checked the Network Adapters compability list I quote..

DLink DE-220P, DE-528CT, DE-530+, DFE-500TX, DFE-530TX

As you can see, your network card is on there.

As for setup and other things you might want to read, the HOWTO collection is pretty good, and I've found most stuff I want in it. As a point I'm a bit of a command link junkie, as anyone who knows me will tell you (*waits for Samson to mutter* ) and while I know there are X progs to configure all this, I don't know of them due to my preferance for the command line.

Anywho, the networking HOWTOs can be found at Linux Networking HOWTOs and there is a general catagorized list HOWTOs, Catagorized List of HOWTOs

Of course if you have probs, ask
       
Post is unread #7 Jun 22, 2002, 1:21 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Guest - (Unregistered)

Okay here's my whole setup, I've 3 windows pc's connected together on a D-link hub with D-link network cards. The hub connects to a external DSL modem all working great. Plus we love having big LAN party weekends when our friends bring over extra laptops I've tried installing my Redhat hard drive in another pc on the network and it had the exact same problem with the network card. The DSL has a dynamic IP address when it connects, but since I rarely ever have to shut down the modem it stays static for several weeks.

Always a noble goal to set this sorta thing up, in fact I run a very similar setup, except I don't tend to use mine for gaming that much

As a warning, while the DSL is up for hours, mine is up in the same way, but I HAVE had my IP change partway through, as my firewall decided to reconfigure itself as appropriate when it happened (my ADSL link plugs directly into my Linux box, Zaranth, which provides firewall, DNS, Mail and lots of other services..).

Even so this information is irrelevent, unless these DLink cards actually have dynamic Ethernet addresses (like quite a few Realtek ones do), and you have to make sure you don't let them clash. I've got one as the 10.1.0.0/24 subnet in my linux and have to keep an eye on making sure the network doesn't up and try and confuse itself.

Anywho.. enough babbling on my part
       
Post is unread #8 Jun 22, 2002, 6:09 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kilroy
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts122
JoinedMay 1, 2002

Indeed Trax is 100% correct,
The howto's and the docs are great, once again - I cannot offer you any X support, I chose not to install anyform of X on my box this time round, I found in the long run it was just easier to work from the commmand line.

You could also try www.faqs.org they are pretty resourceful most of the time.

As far as the ip change thing - you might want to take a look at www.no-ip.com
they have a linux module that is pretty easy to setup, and well, While Cable internet is based on a supposed static ip, it is still a helluva lot easier to tell somebody a domain name rather that an IP
check it out
if you need help compiling it - just gimme a shout.


Kilroy
       
Post is unread #9 Jun 22, 2002, 9:21 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Gellor

GroupMembers
Posts4
JoinedJun 18, 2002

Outstanding Guys that did it! Using the modprobe as Trax suggested did the trick. Just got all registered and getting all the updates. I'll dig into the how-to's and the no-ip.com sites also.

Thanks again for all your help!
       
Post is unread #10 Jul 30, 2002, 6:02 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Bajula

GroupMembers
Posts14
JoinedMay 28, 2002

too bad i have been away for a while, i am using same nic
and have all the drivers, etc.. for any dist of linux.
sorry i'm late
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>