Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
 Couple bugs
Yesterday, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Google, Yahoo!

Members: 0
Guests: 9
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,705
19,232
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » SWR FUSS » Commands do not work, only em...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Commands do not work, only emotes
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Apr 13, 2006, 6:50 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Ombrenuit
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts5
JoinedApr 13, 2006

I managed to compile SWR 1.2 FUSS on cygwin cleanly, and I got it up and running (though it gives me a slew of area related errors when it starts up). However, after I finished character creation and get into the first area of the game, w (for west) yield "you wave" and "n" yields "you nibble nervously on your fingernails". In fact, none of the MUD related commands work, they simply generate emotes. Perhaps the files did not cleanly unpack? Is it a compile issue?
       
Post is unread #2 Apr 14, 2006, 5:49 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Zeno
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts723
JoinedMar 5, 2005

So trying "west" (the full command name) doesn't work? Try re-DLing the tar. Maybe it was corrupt. I assume it's fine. I'll check it out if it still doesn't work for you.
       
Post is unread #3 Apr 14, 2006, 8:28 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

This is most likely related to dlsym issues. In the Makefile, you need to change:
#Uncomment to compile in Cygwin
#CYGWIN = -DCYGWIN

#Uncomment the line below if you are getting undefined references to dlsym, dlopen, and dlclose.
#Comment it out if you get errors about ldl not being found.
NEED_DL = -ldl


To:
#Uncomment to compile in Cygwin
CYGWIN = -DCYGWIN

#Uncomment the line below if you are getting undefined references to dlsym, dlopen, and dlclose.
#Comment it out if you get errors about ldl not being found.
#NEED_DL = -ldl


From the sound of things the necessary code did not get compiled in. I'm surprised it worked enough to even try to boot.
       
Post is unread #4 Apr 18, 2006, 7:54 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Halcyon
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts187
JoinedApr 12, 2005

That's the same issue I had when I first tried.

As I stated before, though, I had never had to bother with the CYGWIN flag because it all compiled and ran just fine without it, so the thought had never crossed my mind. Perhaps it should be made special note of somewhere? I'm sure I'm not the only Cygwin user that's ever managed to get a perfectly usable compile without messing with the Makefile.
       
Post is unread #5 Apr 19, 2006, 6:04 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

The thing is, it should not have "ran just fine" without doing the Makefile thing. Having all of the commands being missing isn't exactly what I'd call running fine :)

Unless they've changed something about Cygwin in the last 2 weeks I also don't see how it got past compiling without complaining about the ldl, which should have triggered looking at the Makefile, which should have made people go "hmm... a Cygwin flag...". Maybe I'm just too old schooled or something though.
       
Post is unread #6 Apr 21, 2006, 8:02 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Halcyon
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts187
JoinedApr 12, 2005

I meant pre-dslym. Before it became a standard part of the package, I had never had the need to play with the Cygwin flag whatsoever, and compiles and running always went perfectly. That's why it never crossed my mind that I'd suddenly need to modify it just because of a new feature.
       
Post is unread #7 Apr 25, 2006, 7:21 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Ah, yes. Gotcha. I don't think the Cygwin flag was necessary anymore once crypt() was replaced with the sha256 encryption. But after dlsym became standard that changed again.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>