Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Yandex, Yahoo!, Google

Members: 0
Guests: 8
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
612
Jacki72H
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Ubuntu System Errors
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Ubuntu System Errors
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1, 2 next >>
Post is unread #21 Dec 14, 2006, 8:44 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kiasyn
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts121
JoinedJun 30, 2006

apt-get install csh will work too
       
Post is unread #22 Dec 14, 2006, 9:16 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Lazerous

GroupMembers
Posts79
JoinedAug 10, 2005

root@Ryan-Server:/home/ryan# apt-get install csh
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
csh
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 239kB of archives.
After unpacking, 393kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://ca.archive.ubuntu.com dapper/universe csh 20050313-1 [239kB]
Fetched 239kB in 32s (7389B/s)
Selecting previously deselected package csh.
(Reading database ... 79915 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking csh (from .../csh_20050313-1_i386.deb) ...
Setting up csh (20050313-1) ...

root@Ryan-Server:/home/ryan# exit
exit
ryan@Ryan-Server:~$ cd afkmud
ryan@Ryan-Server:~/afkmud$ cd src
ryan@Ryan-Server:~/afkmud/src$ ./startup &
[1] 8646
ryan@Ryan-Server:~/afkmud/src$ nohup ./startup &
[2] 8666
ryan@Ryan-Server:~/afkmud/src$ nohup: appending output to `nohup.out'


off to bed for the nite i will check here tom morn...
thanks for all the help so far, I did the apt and got that installed we gettin closer...heh
       
Post is unread #23 Dec 14, 2006, 9:31 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Zeno
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts723
JoinedMar 5, 2005

Getting closer? It looks like it worked to me. :) Do a ps ux to check.
       
Post is unread #24 Dec 14, 2006, 9:55 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

I'd have to agree with Zeno, Ryan, you're done, not getting closer. Now just log in create your new character to be your admin character, save, log off and edit it's level and you're ready to start building or at least checking stuff out.
       
Post is unread #25 Dec 14, 2006, 10:30 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kiasyn
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts121
JoinedJun 30, 2006

Also, don't run as root.
       
Post is unread #26 Dec 15, 2006, 4:56 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Lazerous

GroupMembers
Posts79
JoinedAug 10, 2005

Ok well I will attempt that in a moment, but for now here is an interesting situation that is bugging me.
Everytime I log in, my dns server info is flushed.
I have to re-enter all the dns servers.
semms trivial but its annoying....
       
Post is unread #27 Dec 15, 2006, 6:14 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Lazerous

GroupMembers
Posts79
JoinedAug 10, 2005

Well thank you, I did check, and yes it is a process running, just must have missed it due to lack of sleep last nite, thanks again all of you!

Now comes the learning curve...heh
       
Post is unread #28 Dec 15, 2006, 7:20 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

ryan_rae said:

Ok well I will attempt that in a moment, but for now here is an interesting situation that is bugging me.
Everytime I log in, my dns server info is flushed.
I have to re-enter all the dns servers.
semms trivial but its annoying....


Uh. Your DNS info gets flushed by logging on? Which DNS info is that?
       
Post is unread #29 Dec 15, 2006, 7:35 pm   Last edited Dec 15, 2006, 7:36 pm by ryan_rae
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Lazerous

GroupMembers
Posts79
JoinedAug 10, 2005

That would be the dns servers, but its no biggy I found the issue, it wasn't on dhcp
no biggy. Prob solved there. Now I got alot to learn here it appears, and I do mean alot, there are some simularities to smaugwizard and smaug, but afkmud is NOT any of those codebases, there are alot
of differences here. For example, I am used to a graphical front end with some user configurable options,
and this doesn't have that, so its not obvious that its running, which is good and bad, I like seeing a window or sumthin showing me that something is running, but thats me. Less resource use nice, but a 50 - 50 thing with me.

Also now I have to hunt down those options if they are present, no biggy, just was brainwashed into the
stupid windows server...mutter...I like the diversity I have seen so far in just the stock release.

You folks are welcome to stop by some time, I wont spam the addy here,
that is not the point of this forum.
You want to hope over and help, then find me in mudconnect or what ever.

Any first timer recomendations will be taken to heart if you folks have any ideas...
Especially on coding, what compiler do you recomend etc.

Is there a decent IDE like ms visual c++?
Something nice and able to open a whole "project" to allow search w/o doing that with grep?
       
Post is unread #30 Dec 15, 2006, 11:27 pm   Last edited Dec 15, 2006, 11:42 pm by Conner
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

KDE System Guard is nice for that.. or you could just keep a terminal window open running top.. :tongue:
The commands are a little different, and there are a bunch of extras included in AFKMud, but it is still a derivative of SmaugFUSS which you have seen/used before.

Be sure to look for a command like cset, it's a pretty good starting place.. oh, and don't miss out on that imcconfig command either. :wink:

Ryan, just add it to your forum signature like the rest of us have done - click on Control Panel at the top of the page to see where.

Personally I recomment gcc/g++, the one you're already using for it. How hard is it to type make clean and hit enter? :wink:

That's a tough one, I'm sure that there are some, I know my fedora core came with a couple, but since I have never used and IDE, I wouldn't know the differences to even try to steer you towards one over another. I just use gedit to do my editing, grep to do my searching, and make/make clean to do my compiling. *shrug*
       
Post is unread #31 Dec 16, 2006, 6:49 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Lazerous

GroupMembers
Posts79
JoinedAug 10, 2005

Thanks for the info Conner, cset is an interesting command, has a few usefull things at this time, but alot I have to look into. No biggy, more trying to figure out how to do the auto-authorize for newbies. That way if I am not
here people can still play etc....on another note, is overland supposed to be automatically displaying to me and everyone else? As when I use the base telnet from my terminal window, i am lookin at the reg mud display that I am used to. I will look through the discussions, but so far I have seen how to remove the overland but not any real installation info on it....
       
Post is unread #32 Dec 16, 2006, 10:22 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

There are instructions on how to setup/use overland in the docs folder of the distrobution itself, Ryan. Also, don't forget that you'll only see the overland map if you're traveling 'overland', i.e., between areas, it's not general mapping for each room of the mud, it's graphical mapping of the vast areas between the 'built' areas, at least as I understand it.

The auto-auth, I'm not so sure about, I thought it was a cset setting, but it really has been a while since I looked through AFKMud itself.
       
Post is unread #33 Dec 16, 2006, 5:23 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Lazerous

GroupMembers
Posts79
JoinedAug 10, 2005

dealt with the auto auth...
       
Pages:<< prev 1, 2 next >>