Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_drag( )
Oct 8, 2017, 12:40 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Beastmaster 6D sound files
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Majestic-12, Yahoo!, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 9
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
476
3,704
19,231
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Ranger practice problem... so...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Ranger practice problem... solved?
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > I found my problem. Possible new bu

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 May 31, 2003, 11:52 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Amalric

GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedMay 15, 2003

I was having a problem and reporting a bug about my level 35 Ranger not being able to practice level 33 and level 35 spells that were within my slist.
I think I have tracked the problem down to the fact that I didn't bother to practice a previous spell (Entangle- level 31). After I realized this and practiced Entangle I tried to practice my level 33 and 35 spells again and this time it worked.
I think there is still a bug here but changed in nature. Shouldn't we be able to skip skills or spells if we don't think that they would be very useful to have? I skipped one accidentally and it really messed me up later.
       
Post is unread #2 Jun 1, 2003, 3:04 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Tarl

GroupAFKMud Team
Posts26
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Heya.

There shouldn't be any problems with skipping a spell/skill, did you happen to go to a different guildmaster each time perchance ? There is a limit to what level spell a particular guildmaster will teach you..

I'm not sure if thats the problem you experienced or not..
       
Post is unread #3 Jun 2, 2003, 9:56 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Amalric

GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedMay 15, 2003

I made sure to go to the same Guildmaster each time so that I didn't introduce new variables into the problem. I used the Ranger Guildmaster in Maldoth each time. (My RL job is software QA/CPM so I try to follow a procedure to find a solution.)
The reason I think that I found the problem is that I tried to learn the lev 33 spells before I tried to learn Entangle and I got the same message: "You are not yet ready to learn that..." I then practiced the Entangle spell then tried the others again and this time he let me practice them.
I still may not have found the real problem but I can't think of any other variables I could have added to the solution other than mud time of day and stuff like that.
In any case, at least my problem is fixed... for now, and documented here in the forums for future reference.
       
Post is unread #4 Jun 3, 2003, 4:50 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Xorith
The Null Value
GroupAFKMud Team
Posts254
JoinedFeb 23, 2003

I do believe there are a few that you must practice first, but then again I rather like this and was going to implement this more on my own MUD.

What stops someone from going out and hack'n'slashing all day, then just learning the cool ones that happened to replace the old? It encourages 'power leveling' or 'rocketing' and it's something I'd like to thwart, personally.

I'm actually looking to put skill levels in, with the percentage being much like experience.

This was a bit off the topic, but ah well. Anywho I don't think it's a bug, but I'd have to check.
       
Post is unread #5 Jun 4, 2003, 1:45 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

This behaviour was not intentional, and is a bug. A low priority one though since it produced an affect we don't mind :P

But, a bug all the same. There should be no reason to have to learn one skill before another. The system simply isn't built that way even though we've thought about it.
       
Post is unread #6 Jun 4, 2003, 12:07 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Amalric

GroupMembers
Posts48
JoinedMay 15, 2003

Oh, OK, I get it! It's a *feature*! Yeah, that's it.

Seriously, if it works the way you really want it to then why *fix* it? It just isn't documented that you must learn skills/spells in order of level without skipping. Easier fix than messing with the code if you ask me.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>