Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
 Couple bugs
Yesterday, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in will_fall( )
Oct 23, 2017, 1:35 am
By GatewaySysop
Bug in do_zap( ), do_brandish( )
Oct 18, 2017, 1:52 pm
By GatewaySysop
Bug in get_exp_worth( )
Oct 10, 2017, 1:26 am
By GatewaySysop
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Memwatch
Author: Johan Lindh
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, DotBot, Yandex, Google

Members: 0
Guests: 17
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
477
3,705
19,232
608
LAntorcha
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » A little problem
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

A little problem
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > Something bad :(

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jul 10, 2006, 12:52 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ToadVile

GroupMembers
Posts47
JoinedApr 1, 2006

Alright.. I don't really know what i was doing, all.. but well

I renumbered the areas, tried to make it lower, all.. it all seemed good. but renumber just doesen't do all for it.. like Resets, programs, etc.. all the vnums still stick to the old ones, all..

So my problem now is.. i have a bunch of reset_events happening, everytime the mud tries to boot, it eats up CPU, it hangs when it reaches Initializing area reset events...

I've shut the mud down cause i was tryin a differnet codebase out, now it refuses to work correctly :(

I'm not really sure what to do anymore now.. :(

Peace
       
Post is unread #2 Jul 10, 2006, 1:51 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

No backups to revert to? :(
Can you manually edit the area files to fix the resets, progs, etc?
       
Post is unread #3 Jul 10, 2006, 2:00 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ToadVile

GroupMembers
Posts47
JoinedApr 1, 2006

I put everything back to stock, it still messes up :(
       
Post is unread #4 Jul 10, 2006, 2:03 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Hmm.. do you have output from the logfile to give any indication what's still going wrong? If the problem was because you messed up an area file (or all of them), reverting the area file(s) really ought to fix the problem.
       
Post is unread #5 Jul 10, 2006, 2:21 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ToadVile

GroupMembers
Posts47
JoinedApr 1, 2006

It always stops right at this point..

Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:21:43 PM EDT :: Initializing area reset events...

It will not go past that point, CPU is at 99% already.. so Yeah, thats not a good thing :P
       
Post is unread #6 Jul 10, 2006, 3:02 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Toadvile IM'd me about this issue and I offered to share the IM here so that what I'd suggested could be posted to avoid repeating any steps, a solution wasn't found yet... I did clean up the conversation a little, but didn't take things out of time order so if it's not the easiest to read (flow-wise) blame the nature of instant messaging. :wink:

(17:18:05) Toadvile: Hello
(17:24:01) Toadvile: Meh.. i screwed my mud up :P
(17:24:11) Toadvile: and uhh.. i don't have a clue how :D
(17:24:29) Toadvile: I think Renumber is evil :P
(17:25:31) Conner: so I read.. nah, just not complete.. I thought someone had posted a fix for renumber actually, but that may have been for SmaugFUSS (I don't actually use AFKmud, but I do use something things that are in it, so I watch that forum too)
(17:25:54) Toadvile: :O
(17:26:36) Conner: CPU being at 99% is bad enough on its own..
(17:26:43) Toadvile: yep
(17:27:13) Conner: so it only gets to initializing area resets.. and you've reverted all the area files back to before you'd used renumber?
(17:27:23) Conner: emphasis on all
(17:27:24) Toadvile: Yep
(17:27:43) Toadvile: I'm freaking lost now :(
(17:28:03) Conner: and you've shutdown and restarted the mud? (not just hotboot/copyover, or even reboot)
(17:28:14) Toadvile: Yep, it won't restart
(17:28:51) Conner: weird, because once you've shut it down, it should only be able to get it's resets from the area files, it shouldn't even know that there had been a problem. :(
(17:29:03) Toadvile: for( area = first_area; area; area = area->next, i++ )
{
reset_area( area );
area->last_resettime = current_time;
add_event( number_range( ( area->reset_frequency * 60 ) / 2, 3 * ( area->reset_frequency * 60 ) / 2 ),
ev_area_reset, area );
}

}

(17:29:08) Toadvile: thats the spot in code its stuck at...
(17:29:10) Conner: you're sure you didn't miss an area?
(17:29:14) Toadvile: Yep
(17:29:46) Conner: is it saving the reset time to the area file?
(17:30:06) Toadvile: Not sure..
(17:30:18) Conner: (is it trying to be persistant over shutdowns and such?)
(17:30:35) Conner: I assume this is an AFKmud.
(17:30:38) Toadvile: yeah it is
(17:30:50) Toadvile: it shutdown with no prob at all
(17:32:15) Conner: not my strongest suite.. AFK's got some neat features, but I haven't got them all in my mud.. never cared that much for overland and it's the tough one to remove/disable from AFK so I stayed with SmaugFUSS instead.. that and AFK has no vampire class/race... *chuckle*
(17:33:23) Conner: ok, so it shuts down cleanly.. all the areas have been reverted to before the change so all the resets should be 'right' again, but it won't start because it's getting stuck on the reset_area or the add_event call ...
(17:35:26) Conner: it really seems like there must still be a bad reset or something in there.. were these areas converted to AFK format? (maybe you reverted too far?)
(17:35:47) Toadvile: Nope, they were originally here
(17:36:21) Conner: so these are all stock areas? (I didn't think AFK came with much in the way of stock areas.)
(17:36:31) Toadvile: it comes with 7 stock
(17:37:00) Conner: *nod* ..does it still use an area.lst file to load the areas?
(17:37:06) Toadvile: yeah
(17:38:03) Conner: can you take them out of the area.lst and add them back in one at a time (starting with any that have hard coded references) to see which one it's actually failing on?
(17:39:02) Conner: or maybe download a fresh copy of AFK to replace the stock areas? (or if you still have your original distribution archive, get them from it?)
(17:42:35) Toadvile: Meh.. i dunno.. i guess i'll deal with it later..
(17:42:49) Toadvile: See if samson can suggest something since i somehow screwed this up good
(17:42:50) Toadvile: again
(17:43:13) Conner: *L* do you want me to post this conversation so you don't get the same suggestions?
(17:47:41) Toadvile: yeah, please
(17:48:14) Conner: ok, no problem :)
(17:48:18) Toadvile: I might have just stumpled upon a new critical bug for Samson lol
(17:48:36) Conner: it's possible, that's how most of them are found. *LOL*
(17:48:40) Toadvile: :P
(17:49:03) Toadvile: Cause Areaconvert was another one of them buggy ones :P
(17:49:52) Toadvile: Guess i outta stop playing with stuff.. i keep breaking everything :P
(17:50:06) Conner: no comments, haven't toyed with it enough to have an opinion.. anyway, have a good 'night' and get some rest, we'll see what other ideas folks can come up with. :)
(17:50:15) Conner: *L* That's how you learn. ;)
(17:50:19) Toadvile: Nod
(17:50:28) Toadvile: thanks again for everything :)
(17:50:54) Conner: again, no problem, sorry that I couldn't come up with a full solution.
       
Post is unread #7 Jul 11, 2006, 11:34 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

mordecai

GroupMembers
Posts99
JoinedNov 17, 2005

You might want to try incorporating my updated renumber snippet http://mudbytes.net/index.php?a=files&s=viewfile&fid=669
It greedily checks for references in the entire world - I've tested it renumbering every stock area with smaug. Now, I must note that it was built for SmaugFUSS, so I'm not sure if any conversion will be required to get it to work with AFKmud.
       
Post is unread #8 Jul 11, 2006, 11:48 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,858
JoinedJul 26, 2005

How about doing a print area->filename so you know what area is crashing it, then remove it from the area list till you get a chance to check that area to see why its crashing in it. That is one of the fastest ways to recover past this problem.
       
Post is unread #9 Jul 11, 2006, 8:39 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Samson
Black Hand
GroupAdministrators
Posts3,639
JoinedJan 1, 2002

Yes, we're going to have to drop in some crude debugging logs for this one. That loop by itself should have no reason to become infinite. It would have had to be a pretty odd set of circumstances to corrupt things and somehow be unrepairable with fresh stock copies.
       
Post is unread #10 Jul 11, 2006, 9:22 pm   Last edited Jul 11, 2006, 9:40 pm by ToadVile
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

ToadVile

GroupMembers
Posts47
JoinedApr 1, 2006

Alright, i don't really know what caused it, all.. but it wasen't the areas at all.. I just restored most everything in the system directory, it booted up all the way, is working correctly now..

I'm not exactly sure what i was playing with last, but as far as i can remember, i didn't do anything to anything..

But thanks for the help, all.. If i happen to come across what caused it, i'll let you know.. but at this point its unknown..
       
Post is unread #11 Jul 12, 2006, 12:52 pm
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Conner
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts870
JoinedMay 8, 2005

Just remember to back up often and you should generally be fine. :wink:
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>