Login
User Name:

Password:



Register
Forgot your password?
Vote for Us!
auth_update crash
Dec 23, 2017, 10:15 pm
By Remcon
check_tumble
Dec 18, 2017, 7:21 pm
By Remcon
parse description bug
Dec 15, 2017, 10:08 pm
By Remcon
Couple bugs
Dec 12, 2017, 5:42 pm
By Remcon
Bug in disarm( )
Nov 12, 2017, 6:54 pm
By GatewaySysop
LoP 1.46
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP 1.45
Author: Remcon
Submitted by: Remcon
LOP Heroes Edition
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Heroes sound extras
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
6Dragons 4.3
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
Users Online
CommonCrawl, Google, Yandex

Members: 0
Guests: 13
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
478
3,708
19,242
613
bastian
Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
Related Links
» SmaugMuds.org » Codebases » AFKMud Support & Development » Mud startup
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

Mud startup
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > Mud startup

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Jul 14, 2002, 9:44 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

BroRich

GroupMembers
Posts20
JoinedJul 12, 2002

I know this is sort of a newbie question i guess, but i was wondering how i would set up linux (Mandrake 8.2) so that my MUD starts up when the machine reboots. Also, how would I set tit to run all 3 ports open and running. I am using the standard ports as designatedin afk.h (9500,9600,9700) Do i just run the startup script for each one individually or is there one command to start them all.
       
Post is unread #2 Jul 14, 2002, 2:18 pm   Last edited Nov 24, 2007, 11:07 am by Samson
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kilroy
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts122
JoinedMay 1, 2002

what yoiu can do is in your /etc/ directory there is a file called rc.local
this file is read, and then executed upon bootup, so you can add any proggies that you want to have started up upon reboot here.
#!/bin/sh
#
# This script will be executed *after* all the other init scripts.
# You can put your own initialization stuff in here if you don't
# want to do the full Sys V style init stuff.

touch /var/lock/subsys/local
/usr/local/sbin/proftpd
/etc/mudafk
/usr/local/bin/noip

the above is copied directly from my rc.local.

you will see that i have /etc/mudafk

that is firing off another script.
[root@localhost etc]# more mudafk 
#!/bin/sh

cd /usr/local/mud/afkmud/src

./startup &


-rwx------    1 root     root           53 May 14 21:41 mudafk


perhaps that will help you.


Kilroy
       
Post is unread #3 Jul 15, 2002, 5:37 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

BroRich

GroupMembers
Posts20
JoinedJul 12, 2002

Thanks. I think that will do the trick for me.
       
Post is unread #4 Jul 15, 2002, 5:38 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

BroRich

GroupMembers
Posts20
JoinedJul 12, 2002

So do you run your mud with root priveleges? Mine is running from my home directory.
       
Post is unread #5 Jul 15, 2002, 6:15 am
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

kilroy
Magician
GroupMembers
Posts122
JoinedMay 1, 2002

no my mud is running as user mud
the shell script that is executed to start the mud isexecuted by root, as such it is owned by root.
       
Pages:<< prev 1 next >>